LibGuides: CFA 100 (Mellen): Library Databases

Art

Works of Art

JSTOR Image Search
Search images of works of art held in museums worldwide.

Art Encyclopedia

Oxford Art Online
Access is limited to 4-5 simultaneous users.
Art encyclopedia
Use this resource for information of the visual arts world, from prehistory to the present day. Full text articles, images and charts, and links to web material

Art Journal Articles and Book Chapters

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
170+ ebooks across the main visual arts disciplines including fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and media, architecture and interiors, and marketing and advertising.
More than 170 highly illustrated books, providing structured and accessible coverage across the main visual arts disciplines to support a wide range of practice-led courses
A versatile combination of titles covering key skills and topics within each discipline and at different levels of study, sequentially from basic concepts to careers and professional practice
Richly illustrated content, with each title typically offering between 150-250 full-color images to showcase work, concepts, or techniques
A wealth of practical pedagogy such as case studies, leading practitioner interviews, and activities allowing students and educators to realize learning outcomes, while embedding students' understanding of real-world applications and supporting portfolio development
Art Full Text
Art publications index with selected full text from 1997. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Possible to limit searches to full text items only or peer-reviewed items only. Works of art found reproduced in periodicals are also indexed. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage of selected articles begins in 1997.

Music

Streaming Recordings

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive classical music library online.
Limited to 10 concurrent usersNML offers access to over 1.6 million tracks from more than 112,000 albums and over 750 labels, with hundreds of new CDs added weekly.
Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection
Over 150 live performances archived on video - funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres.

Music Encyclopedia

Oxford Music Online
Access is limited to 2-3 simultaneous users
The premier resource for music information.
Oxford Music online (formerly Grove Music Online) contains the New Grove Dictionary and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It is acknowledged as the premier authority in English on all aspects of music. Entries are extensive and contain work lists, bibliographies, terminology, and many other facets of music. Entries are updated and date stamped when needed. Oxford Music Online should be the first stop for any research or information seeking in music.

Scores

A-R Music Anthology
Music and articles compiled for use in music history and theory courses.
Periods surveyed are medieval, Renaissance, baroque, classical, Romantic and twentieth-century music.

Music Journal Articles

Music Index
1975-
Index to music journals.
The Music Index covers more than 725 international music periodicals back to 1975. Periodicals indexed covers both classical and popular music subjects. The Music Index is a primary resource for indexing performance, book, and record reviews, as well as obituaries.

Architecture

Architecture Encyclopedia

Architecture Library
Wide-ranging collections of text and image content, from architectural history to cutting-edge design guidance.

Architecture Journal Articles

Building Green
Articles, reviews, product information and news on sustainable building.
This resource integrates product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and the Environmental Building News.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The basic index for architecture articles.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.
Architecture Design & Practice Online
200 key titles focusing on studio design and professional practice, which includes design guidance and technical detail, up-to-date peer-reviewed content, case studies and technical drawings, and over 15,000 images.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Good for: Finding abstracts and citations for design and applied arts.
Contains: Abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews.

Undergraduate Research in Architecture by D. Andrew Vernooy; Jenny Olin Shanahan; Gregory Young
ISBN: 1000364348

Publication Date: 2022

Film

Streaming Films

Kanopy
This streaming video service provides access to thousands of titles in such areas of the arts, humanities, business, sciences, media/communications, education and more.
Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
Digitalia Film Library
Good for: Watching feature films and documentaries in various languages.
Contains: Streaming films in Spanish, Portuguese, and 34 other languages with English subtitles.
Each film's license includes public performance rights.

Entertainment Industry Media

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Music, film, broadcasting and theater industry trade publications published before 2015 including Variety, Billboard, Spin, The Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, American Film, Picturegoer and more.

Film History and Film Scholarship

Screen Studies
Search through a collection of film criticism books and screenplays, including the BFI Screen Classics series, or consult a timeline about the history of cinema.
Contains books, screenplays

Undergraduate Research in Film by Lucia Ricciardelli; Jenny Olin Shanahan; Gregory Young
Call Number: Lied Library Book Stacks PN1995 .R48 2020

ISBN: 1138599514

Publication Date: 2020

Dance

Dance Performances

Dance Online: Dance in Video
Good for: Studying the history and forms of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Contains: Streaming video of performances, masterclasses, documentaries and interviews.
Medici.tv
Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events.
Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.
BroadwayHD collection
Streaming video of 19 recent Broadway theatrical productions, including Indecent, She Loves Me, Long Day's Journey into Night, Present Laughter, and Buried Child.
UNLV has perpetual access to only the 19 plays (spreadsheet) in this collection. This is not a subscription to the BroadwayHD.com web site, which does not offer academic licenses.
Broadway on Demand Collection
Along with musicals, plays, and contemporary dance performances, the collection of videos includes unique behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses to help researchers gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of the art of theater.

Dance Journal Articles

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals

Guide to Dance Research

Undergraduate Research in Dance by Lynnette Young Overby; Jenny Olin Shanahan; Gregory Young
ISBN: 1040176275

Publication Date: 2025

Theatre

Playscripts

Drama Online
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints; recorded productions from RC, National Theatre, and more.

Recorded performances

Broadway on Demand
Along with musicals, plays, and contemporary dance performances, the collection includes unique behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses to help researchers gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of the art of theater.

Theatre in Video
Streaming video of theatre productions and documentaries about performance.
Theatre in Video presents online streaming video of complete professional performances of more than 250 well-known plays, together with more than 500 video documentaries. View and bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples.

Theatre history

Performance Design Archive Online
Books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos about design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance
1997-2016
Material from the performance and architectural archives of the modern reconstruction of Shakespeare’s 1599 Globe Theatre.
The performance archive shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved and the theatre history and performance lessons that were observed and learned. The architectural archive contains material on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions. In addition, there is also material on the theatre’s annual reports, communications to its supporters and oral histories detailing some of the early history of the reconstructed theatre.

Journal Articles about plays

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
1926-
Literary criticism published in journal articles, book chapters, books and more. Video tutorial for MLAIB

Undergraduate Research in Theatre by Michelle Hayford
ISBN: 1000392953

Publication Date: 2022

CFA 100 (Mellen): Library Databases

Popular Media

Art

Music

Architecture

Film

Dance

Theatre

Locations

Contact