LibGuides: Hist 251 1001 (Dimas): Finding Secondary Sources

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

QuickSearch on Library Home Page
Searches books, ebooks, journal articles, and other items available in the UNLV Libraries and their online collections. (Excludes Law Library holdings)
UNLV Wiener-Rogers Law Library catalog

Journal Articles

Secondary sources. Journal articles written by historians published in scholarly journals.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You can limit your search to just history journals on the Advanced Search form.
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

Secondary sources. Collections of scholarly journals that include history journals along with journals from other academic disciplines.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1802-1995
Journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published between 1802-1995
Update frequency: quarterly
Search international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995. PAO includes pre-1995 issues of over 400 journals, including many journals published in languages other than English.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly

Magazines, newsletters and other popular sources written for members of a community. Could be primary or secondary sources depending on how you use them.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1974-
Publications on gender issues. International publications as well as reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings devoted to gender issues.
Update frequency: quarterly
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1890-1982
Index to articles in popular magazines before 1983.
Citations to articles in U. S. general-interest magazines, providing coverage of events prior to 1983. Covers nonfiction, fiction, poems, short stories, and reviews of books, dance, motion pictures, musicals, operas and operettas, radio and television programs, and theater.

Indexes that list citations for scholarship published on a topic. Use the UNLV Find Text button to find out if the full article is available online or request a PDF delivered to your email via ILLiad.

Article First This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in all subject areas from more than 16,000 journals.
Subject coverage in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture is particularly strong.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
A&HCI provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Use this tool to identify how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to identify the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-
Bibliography on Native American history, life, and culture.
Produced in partnership with the Human Relations Area File (HRAF), this database contains citations to magazine and journal articles, monographs, dissertations, and U.S. and Canadian government documents.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Citations from the Alden-Landis bibliography which lists documents printed in Europe that make some mention of the discovery and emerging awareness of the Americas.

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1906-
Indexes work written about the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Update frequency: annual
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
ITER Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the Middle Ages and Renaissance covering scholarship in archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science for the years 400-1700.
It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1890-1982
Index to articles in popular magazines before 1983.
Citations to articles in U. S. general-interest magazines, providing coverage of events prior to 1983. Covers nonfiction, fiction, poems, short stories, and reviews of books, dance, motion pictures, musicals, operas and operettas, radio and television programs, and theater.

Reader's Guide, 1904-1922 (online)
Online access to PDFs of print volumes of Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature, 1904-1922

Hist 251 1001 (Dimas): Finding Secondary Sources

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

Journal Articles

Locations

Contact