LibGuides: COLA 100LA-1012: First-Year Seminar (Chiang): Library Guides

Evaluating Information

CRAAP Test from CSU Chico
A handy guide for evaluating information resources for Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.

In four short videos, Michael Caulfield shares tips for evaluating information online like a fact-checker (first video). The basic strategy is to use the Web to find out more about the source in question. Caulfield calls his method "The Four Moves" or "SIFT."

Stop -- don't share or act on the source until you have checked it out thoroughly.
Investigate the source (second video).
Find original coverage (third video).
Look for Trusted Work (fourth video).

Investigating Your Crime on Newspaper Databases

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
New York Times, 1980 - current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980-
Full text of articles only; includes New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine from 1997 forward.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2017
Historical New York newspaper.
Los Angeles Times, 1996 - current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Major daily newspaper from Los Angeles. Click on the publications link above the search box and then select "Los Angeles Times" to search only this publication.
With the nation's largest editorial department, it offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, 1881-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1881-2014
Historical California newspaper.

Investigating Crime and Media

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.

UNLV Quick Search

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 databases indexing all subject areas with a heavy focus on business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports.
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal and magazine articles about film and television.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.

COLA 100LA-1012: First-Year Seminar (Chiang): Library Guides

PowerPoint

Evaluating Information

Investigating Your Crime on Newspaper Databases

Investigating Crime and Media

Locations

Contact