Two Cultures, One Family: Building Family, Finding Home

In Of Woman Born, originally published in 1976, influential poet and feminist Adrienne Rich examines the patriarchic systems and political institutions that define motherhood. Exploring her own experience?as a woman, a poet, a feminist, and a mother?she finds the act of mothering to be both determined by and distinct from the institution of motherhood as it is imposed on all women everywhere. A ?powerful blend of research, theory, and self-reflection? (Sandra M. Gilbert, Paris Review), Of Woman Born revolutionized how women thought about motherhood and their own liberation. With a stirring new foreword from National Book Critics Circle Award?winning writer Eula Biss, the book resounds with as much wisdom and insight today as when it was first written.

Inspired by the legacy of radical and queer black feminists of the 1970s and '80s, Revolutionary Mothering is an anthology that centres mothers of colour and other marginalised mothers' voices. Marginalised and oppressed mothers are at the centre of a world of necessary transformation. The challenges we face as movements working for racial, economic, reproductive, gender and food justice, as well as anti-violence, anti-imperialist and queer liberation are the same challenges that marginalised mothers face every day.

"A Question of Balance not only celebrates the achievements of mothers in the arts, but also reveals some of the difficult choices and painful losses they have faced. Whether confronted with the everyday frustration of being interrupted or the unimaginable sorrow of losing a child, these extraordinary women have held fast to the thread of their creative spirit, inspiring others with their determination and perseverance. And as they explore their own maternal experience, in paintings and novels, sculptures and poetry, these women are creating works of art which widen our perspective and deepen our understanding of this most complex of human relationships."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

A warm, wise, and urgent guide to parenting in uncertain times, from a longtime reporter on race, reproductive health, and politics In We Live for the We, first-time mother Dani McClain sets out to understand how to raise her daughter in what she, as a black woman, knows to be an unjust -- even hostile -- society. Black women are more likely to die during pregnancy or birth than any other race; black mothers must stand before television cameras telling the world that their slain children were human beings. What, then, is the best way to keep fear at bay and raise a child so she lives with dignity and joy? McClain spoke with mothers on the frontlines of movements for social, political, and cultural change who are grappling with the same questions. Following a child's development from infancy to the teenage years, We Live for the We touches on everything from the importance of creativity to building a mutually supportive community to navigating one's relationship with power and authority. It is an essential handbook to help us imagine the society we build for the next generation.

Although patriarchy, machismo, and excessive masculine displays are assumed to be prevalent among Latinos in general and Mexicans in particular, little is known about Latino men or macho masculinity.Hombres y Machos: Masculinity and Latino Culture fills an important void by providing an integrated view of Latino men, masculinity, and fatherhood--in the process refuting many common myths and misconceptions.Examining how Latino men view themselves, Alfredo Mirandé argues that prevailing conceptions of men, masculinity, and gender are inadequate because they are based not on universal norms but on limited and culturally specific conceptions. Findings are presented from in-depth personal interviews with Latino men (specifically,fathers with at least one child between the ages of four and eighteen living at home) from four geographical regions and from a broad cross-section of the Latino population: working and middle class, foreign-born and native-born. Topics range from views on machos and machismo to beliefs regarding masculinity and fatherhood. In addition to reporting research findings and placing them within a historical context, Mirandé draws important insights from his own life.Hombres y Machos calls for the development of Chicano/Latino men's studies and will be a significant and provocative addition to the growing literature on gender, masculinity, and race. It will appeal to the general reader and is bound to be an important supplementary text for courses in ethnic studies, women's studies, men's studies, family studies, sociology, psychology, social work, and law.

Winner, Lambda Literary Award in LGBTQ Anthology Winner, Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction, Publishing Triangle Awards A Ms. magazine, Refinery29, and Lambda Literary Most Anticipated Read of 2021 A groundbreaking collection tracing the history of intellectual thought by Black Lesbian writers, in the tradition of The New Press's perennial seller Words of Fire African American lesbian writers and theorists have made extraordinary contributions to feminist theory, activism, and writing. Mouths of Rain, the companion anthology to Beverly Guy-Sheftall's classic Words of Fire, traces the long history of intellectual thought produced by Black Lesbian writers, spanning the nineteenth century through the twenty-first century. Using "Black Lesbian" as a capacious signifier, Mouths of Rain includes writing by Black women who have shared intimate and loving relationships with other women, as well as Black women who see bonding as mutual, Black women who have self-identified as lesbian, Black women who have written about Black Lesbians, and Black women who theorize about and see the word lesbian as a political descriptor that disrupts and critiques capitalism, heterosexism, and heteropatriarchy. Taking its title from a poem by Audre Lorde, Mouths of Rain addresses pervasive issues such as misogynoir and anti-blackness while also attending to love, romance, "coming out," and the erotic. Contributors include: Barbara Smith Beverly Smith Bettina Love Dionne Brand Cheryl Clarke Cathy J. Cohen Angelina Weld Grimke Alexis Pauline Gumbs Audre Lorde Dawn Lundy Martin Pauli Murray Michelle Parkerson Mecca Jamilah Sullivan Alice Walker Jewelle Gomez

Dominant history would have us believe that colonialism belongs to a previous era that has long come to an end. But as Native people become mobile, reservation lands become overcrowded and the state seeks to enforce means of containment, closing its borders to incoming, often indigenous, immigrants. In Mark My Words, Mishuana Goeman traces settler colonialism as an enduring form of gendered spatial violence, demonstrating how it persists in the contemporary context of neoliberal globalization. The book argues that it is vital to refocus the efforts of Native nations beyond replicating settler models of territory, jurisdiction, and race. Through an examination of twentieth-century Native women's poetry and prose, Goeman illuminates how these works can serve to remap settler geographies and center Native knowledges. She positions Native women as pivotal to how our nations, both tribal and nontribal, have been imagined and mapped, and how these women play an ongoing role in decolonization. In a strong and lucid voice, Goeman provides close readings of literary texts, including those of E. Pauline Johnson, Esther Belin, Joy Harjo, Leslie Marmon Silko, and Heid Erdrich. In addition, she places these works in the framework of U.S. and Canadian Indian law and policy. Her charting of women's struggles to define themselves and their communities reveals the significant power in all of our stories.

Telling to Live embodies the vision that compelled Latina feminists to engage their differences and find common ground. Its contributors reflect varied class, religious, ethnic, racial, linguistic, sexual, and national backgrounds. Yet in one way or another they are all professional producers of testimonios--or life stories--whether as poets, oral historians, literary scholars, ethnographers, or psychologists. Through coalitional politics, these women have forged feminist political stances about generating knowledge through experience. Reclaiming testimonio as a tool for understanding the complexities of Latina identity, they compare how each made the journey to become credentialed creative thinkers and writers. Telling to Live unleashes the clarifying power of sharing these stories. The complex and rich tapestry of narratives that comprises this book introduces us to an intergenerational group of Latina women who negotiate their place in U.S. society at the cusp of the twenty-first century. These are the stories of women who struggled to reach the echelons of higher education, often against great odds, and constructed relationships of sustenance and creativity along the way. The stories, poetry, memoirs, and reflections of this diverse group of Puerto Rican, Chicana, Native American, Mexican, Cuban, Dominican, Sephardic, mixed-heritage, and Central American women provide new perspectives on feminist theorizing, perspectives located in the borderlands of Latino cultures. This often heart wrenching, sometimes playful, yet always insightful collection will interest those who wish to understand the challenges U.S. society poses for women of complex cultural heritages who strive to carve out their own spaces in the ivory tower. Contributors. Luz del Alba Acevedo, Norma Alarcón, Celia Alvarez, Ruth Behar, Rina Benmayor, Norma E. Cantú, Daisy Cocco De Filippis, Gloria Holguín Cuádraz, Liza Fiol-Matta, Yvette Flores-Ortiz, Inés Hernández-Avila, Aurora Levins Morales, Clara Lomas, Iris Ofelia López, Mirtha N. Quintanales, Eliana Rivero, Caridad Souza, Patricia Zavella

The Las Vegas Bugle Collection on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (1984-2002) consists of correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and ephemera chronicling issues of the lesbian, gay, and bisexual communities in Nevada. In addition to records of the gay newspaper, the Las Vegas Bugle, the collection also contains documents pertaining to the founding of the Gay Community Service Center of Las Vegas, Nevada; Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG), and local political campaigns. Includes microfilm of issues of the Las Vegas bugle and a film reel.
Collection is open for research.
Preferred citation: Las Vegas Bugle Collection on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History, 1984-2002. MS-00476. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

The Dennis McBride Collection on LGBTQ Las Vegas (approximately 1980-2021) is comprised of research files about the history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities and LGBTQ issues that were created by Boulder City, Nevada, native, Dennis McBride in support of his book Out of the Neon Closet: A History of Gay Las Vegas. Files include biographical sketches of notable personalities (political, religious,celebrity, and activist) in Las Vegas, information on LGBTQ organizations (political, social, and civic), and material documenting significant events primarily in the Las Vegas LGBTQ community, but also including Northern Nevada. Additional files focus on associations and initiatives that have been important to the greater LGBTQ community from the 1980s to 2017 such as AIDS/HIV, gay marriage rights, and discrimination. The collection represents McBride's overall efforts to document and preserve the history of the LGBTQ community in Nevada.

The Las Vegas, Nevada Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) Collection documents the LGBTQ community's social and political activities in Las Vegas, Nevada, from 1955 to 2016. The collection includes newspaper articles on AIDS, homophobia, LGBTQ events and clubs, sexual assault, education, equal rights movements, prostitution, religious reactions and outreach, legislation, drag shows, pornography, trans sexuality, and various LGBTQ bars and restaurants. The collection also includes fliers for LGBTQ entertainment, public health outreach, and political organizations. In addition, the collection contains copies of several LGBTQ newspapers and newsletters, including Bohemian Bugle (1986-1990), The Directory (1984), Nevada Gay Times (1983-1984), and Vegas Gay Times (1978-1981). Also included are public health reports, conference programs, educational literature, official proclamations, and documents from several political advocacy groups including Nevadans for Human Rights, Human Rights Campaign, Lambda Legal, the Lesbian and Gay Academic Union, and Las Vegas Pride. Previously known as the Las Vegas Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Collection.

Outdoor -- Shows -- Eats & treats -- Shopping -- Drag shows -- Nightlife directory -- Nightclub and bar schedule -- Community resources.