LibGuides: COM 101: Oral Communication: Community Adovocacy Speech: Resources, Keyword Worksheet, and PowerPoint

UNLV Libraries Databases

CQ Researcher
Good for: Controversial topics in social issues, environment, health, education, science, and technology.
Contains: Reports with information about all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The basic index for architecture articles.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning and historic preservation.
Academic Search Premier
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
ProQuest One Academic
ProQuest One Academic brings together a variety of databases to provide access to a diverse and multidisciplinary research collection.
The database provides access to ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, Academic Complete and ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global. Users will have access to journal articles, streaming media, ebooks and dissertations and theses from all major subject areas, including business, health and medical (including nursing), social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science, engineering and religion.
US Newsstream
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
Scopus
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Good for: Researching criminology and related disciplines.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1960-current date.
Education Full Text
Good for: Researching education topics.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.

Local and State News Sources

Finding Government Information

One of the easiest ways to find government information is to search on Google! After you type in your keywords, then type in site:.gov.

For example:

opioid deaths site:.gov
water shortages in moutain west site:.gov

You also may want to click on Tools and limit the time period of your search (e.g., 2019-2022)

Finding Statistics

One of the easiest ways to find government information is to search on Google! After you type in your keywords, then type in site:.gov.

For example:

Nevada crime statistics site:.gov
high school graduation rates site:.gov

You also may want to click on Tools and limit the time period of your search (e.g., 2019-2022)

Statista
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
Sage Data
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide

Data and Statistics Resource Guide (UNLV Libraries)
A guide containing a collection of data and statistics resources. These resources are separated by location (i.e. local vs. international) or by subject.
UNLV: Facts and Stats
UNLV Reports and Resources (Office of Decision Support)
The Office of Decision Support prepares a wide variety of static reports and interactive, dynamic reports and dashboards for use in university planning and decision-making.

COM 101: Oral Communication: Community Adovocacy Speech: Resources, Keyword Worksheet, and PowerPoint

Community Advocacy Speech PowerPoint and Keyword Worksheet

UNLV Libraries Databases

Local and State News Sources

Finding Government Information

Finding Statistics

Locations

Contact