It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore sources from UNLV Libraries Special Collections that are available online, including oral history transcripts and finding aids about the Latinx Voices oral history project.
Search Tips: Input "Latinx Voices" in quotes and hit search. When your results come back refine the results using tools on the right hand side - hit "REFINE MY RESULTS " and make sure you select "digital objects" so that you are retrieving oral history transcripts that are online. To search for particular ethnic groups, for example input "Latinx Voices" AND Mexico. Or "Latinx Voices" AND Cuba. Ensure that AND is in all caps for your search.
A History of Hispanics in Southern Nevada by M. L. Miranda (Malvin Lane), 1939-Hispanics were among the first people of European descent to venture into the territory that became Nevada, and they have participated in every stage of the state's history and development since then--its mines, railroads, and ranches, the growth of its cities, and its modern industries. Until recently, however, their role in the development of the state and their lively cultural contributions have escaped the scrutiny of scholars. Now, in this important pioneering study, M. L. Miranda offers a thoughtful account of Nevada's largest ethnic minority. Miranda analyzes their growing role in the state-especially in the booming urban South-and offers some projections for their future.
The Peoples of Las Vegas by Jerry L. Simich (Editor); Thomas C. Wright (Editor)Las Vegas is known the world over as an oasis of entertainment in the Nevada desert, but to more than a million people of exceptionally varied origins, it is also home. Yet this city is rarely mentioned in studies of ethnicity or immigration, and the rich diversity of its population is largely invisible to Las Vegans and visitors alike. Such ignorance can be partly explained by the effects of the city's rapid growth. Las Vegas largely lacks traditional ethnic neighborhoods, and the restaurants and markets that cater to its diverse population groups are mostly hidden away in anonymous strip malls. Nonetheless, a remarkable variety of nationalities and ethnic groups has been drawn here since the city's beginnings in 1905, and today Las Vegas's vital service industry, entrepreneurial opportunities, reasonable cost of living, and appeal as a retirement center attract many more. Recent world events and international currents of immigration have only enhanced this diversity. In The Peoples of Las Vegas, seventeen scholars profile thirteen of the ethnic groups that make up their city's population. The book's introduction provides a historical and demographic context for the kaleidoscope of ethnicity that helps define Las Vegas today and analyzes the economic and social conditions that make Las Vegas so attractive to recent immigrants. The individual contributors--most of whom are members of the groups they write about, and who come from a broad array of disciplines--discuss the motivations and processes of their group's migration to Las Vegas, economic pursuits, institutions and other means of preserving and transmitting their culture, involvement with the broader community, ties with their homelands, and recent demographic trends affecting each group. This collection of essays provides a provocative look into the vibrant ethnic life that lies just beneath the glittering surface of one of America's most unusual cities.
Publication Date: 2005-03-07
More Peoples of Las VegasThe remarkable economic growth of Las Vegas between 1980 and 2007 created a population boom and a major increase in the ethnic and religious diversity of the city. Today, over 21 per cent of the city's population is foreign born, and over 30 percent speak a language other than English at home. The local court system offers interpreters in 82 languages, and in 2005/2006, for example, more than 11,000 people, originating from 138 countries, were naturalized there as American citizens. ""More Peoples of Las Vegas"" extends the survey of this city's cosmopolitan population begun in ""The Peoples of Las Vegas"" (University of Nevada Press, 2005). As in the previous book, this volume includes well-established groups like the Irish and Germans, and recently arrived groups like the Ethiopians and Guatemalans. Essays in this title describe the history of each group in Las Vegas and the roles they play in the life and economy of the city. The essays also explore the influence of modern telecommunications and accessible air travel, showing how these factors allow newcomers to create transnational identities and maintain ties with families and culture back home. They also examine the role of local institutions - including clubs, religious organizations, shops, restaurants, and newspapers and other media - in helping immigrants maintain their ethnic and religious identities and in disseminating national and even regional cultures of origin. ""More Peoples of Las Vegas"" adds to our awareness of the rich and varied ethnic and religious character of Las Vegans. In a broader context, it offers thoughtful perspectives on the impact of globalization on a major American city and on the realities of immigrant life in the twenty-first century.
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
Head of Special Collections & Archives Public Services
Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Community Collection (MS-00935)
The Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Community Collection (approximately 1973-2019) consists of memorabilia, ephemera, event fliers, and event photographs donated by members of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada and collected by staff members of the Oral History Research Center at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Materials were donated and collected as part of the Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada oral history and community engagement project hosted by UNLV University Libraries. Some of the materials in this collection are related to oral history interviews for Lidia Bonilla, Horacio Lopez, and Gustavo Ramos. This collection also includes fliers and posters advertising events in the Latinx community, campaign signs for Latinx candidates running for office, and Spanish language campaign signs.
Scott Henry Photographs of the Las Vegas, Nevada Latinx Community (PH-00442)
The Scott Henry Photographs of the Las Vegas, Latinx Community (approximately 1983-2000) consist of 42 photographic prints depicting members of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada. Thirty-eight of the prints were used as part of a collaborative project between Scott Henry, photographer and editor for the Las Vegas Review-Journal, and Thomas Rodriguez, a prominent member of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, for an exhibit of the Las Vegas Latinx community. Henry and Rodriguez together planned who to photograph for the exhibit. The photographs demonstrate the impact that the Latinx community has on the region's political, economic, and social growth and development. A number of the photographs show early members of the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), including John Mendoza, Delia Martinez, Tom Rodriguez, Bob Agonia, Corrine Gutierrez, Nick Flores, Grace Salazar, and Gus Ramos.
The Thomas Rodriguez Professional Papers (1974-2020) document Rodriguez's years of work and achievements in the political, educational, and social advancement of the Latinx community in Southern Nevada. The collection contains research files on the Latinx community of Las Vegas, Nevada, newspaper articles and manuscripts written by Rodriguez, and materials from his many years of involvement and work with local organizations including the Latin Chamber of Commerce, League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), the Hispanic Educators Association of Nevada, and the Latino Youth Leadership Conference. Materials include conference proceedings, symposium and event programs, as well as newspaper articles, correspondence, and administrative files gathered by Rodriguez over the years of researching and working within the community.
The Latino Youth Leadership Conference publications (1994-2018) is comprised of digitized copies of conference programs for the Latino Youth Leadership Conference (LYLC) that is held annually in Las Vegas, Nevada. LYLC is a three-day annual conference that is aimed towards increasing college attendance rates and leadership skills among Latinx high school seniors in Clark County, Nevada.
The Arturo Amaya Papers (1994-2017) are comprised of photographs and periodicals representing Amaya's involvement with the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada. In particular, the photographs document activities of the Las Vegas Peruvian Cultural Heritage Association that Amaya founded. The collection includes issues of local magazines Amaya was involved with as a creator, publisher, and writer including: El Heraldo Latino, Lesgabit, and Ultimahora. Photographs in this collection document activities of the Las Vegas Peruvian Cultural Heritage Association, parades at Las Vegas Centennial Park, activities at the East Las Vegas Community Center, anniversaries of the Independence of Peru celebrated at Sunset Park and on Fremont Street, and the International Food Folklife Festival for Clark County.
The Celia Rivero Grenfell Family Photographs depict the Rivero Family in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1917 to 1950. The photographs depict Celia Grenfell’s parents Francisco and Margarita Rivero as well as their children and relatives. The photographs also depict businesses in Las Vegas, including Frank Romero’s restaurant and the Elko Rooms hotel.