Skip to Main Content

HIST 406B (Johnson), American West since 1849: Lim, Porous Borders sources

Porous Borders

Porous Borders: Multiracial Migrations and the Law in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands by Julian Lim
Call Number: E184.A1 L54 2017
ISBN: 9781469635491
Publication Date: 2017

About Census records

The Decennial Census reports aggregated data in tables. These volumes are available online from the U.S. Bureau of the Census web site (PDFs in zipped format) or IPUMS, the "Integrated Public Use Microdata Series" data repository, in a more flexible format with table of contents and downloadable data.

Records written down by census takers are sometimes referred to as population schedules or the Manuscript Census. UNLV has microfilmed images of these for several states but not Texas.

Online access is available through Ancestry.com and a few other genealogy sites. You can access Ancestry.com without a personal subscription on site at Las Vegas-Clark County Library branches.

The National Archives page below has a summary of online availability for population schedules for all censuses and locations.

National Archives: Search Census Records Online

Introduction

San Antonio Daily Express
1874, 1906-1920
San Antonio Daily Express
- This link opens in a new window
1867-1875, 1898-1913
San Antonio Daily Express
includes 1875-1882, some issues missing
* San Antonio Daily Express
- This link opens in a new window
includes 1880-1894. Access is available through Las Vegas Clark County Library District -- sign up here if you need a card, then log in to NewspaperArchive.com using the link provided above and search the publication titles for San Antonio Daily Express.
U. S. Bureau of the Census. 12th Decennial Census of Population and Housing (1900)
U. S. Bureau of the Census. 13th Decennial Census of Population and Housing (1910)
U. S. Bureau of the Census. 14th Decennial Census of Population and Housing (1920)
U. S. Bureau of the Census. 15th Decennial Census of Population and Housing (1930)

Manuscript Census records - see box on left

Hung Ah Hang v. State of Texas, 18 Tex. Ct. App. 675
- This link opens in a new window
Wells v. State, 4 Tex. Ct. App. 20
- This link opens in a new window

Chapter 1

Bartlett, John Russell. Personal Narrative of Explorations and Incidents...
also print copy at Lied 3rd floor F 786 .B2852
Buck's Directory of El Paso for 1902

Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2017 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

G.A. Gould & Co., General Business Directory of the City of El Paso for 1886-87 (1886),
Gillett, James B. Six Years With the Texas Rangers, 1875-1881. (print)
1925 Yale ed in Hathi Trust
Eickemeyer, R. (1894). Letters from the Southwest
E. and S. McElroy v. Joseph McGoffin, 68 Tex. 208, 1887 Tex. LEXIS 666 (1887)
- This link opens in a new window
El Paso Herald
U.S. Congress, Chinese Exclusion Act (1882) (“An Act to Execute Certain Treaty Stipulations Related to the Chinese”)
El Ciudadano (1892)
- This link opens in a new window
Tyler, Ron, and Lawrence Murphy, eds., Slave Narratives of Texas (1974, 1997)
print in Lied; see also unedited interviews in American Slave: A Composite Autobiography below
Hills, Frances, oral history interview transcript, Oral History Institute, Univ. of Texas at El Paso

Chapter 2

El Paso Daily Times (1883-1886)
El Paso International Daily Times, 1889-1902
El Paso Daily Times (microfilm)
Newspapers change titles a lot. Library catalog records often include a list of alternate titles with dates that can be helpful when looking for online copies!
Nixon, Drusilla, oral history interview transcript, Oral History Institute, Univ. of Texas at El Paso
Wheresoever My People Chance to Dwell: Oral Interviews with African American Women of El Paso
Link goes to copy available for one hour online use with a free account from the Internet Archive; print copy ordered 1/13/23 for Lied
White, Owen P., Out of the Desert: the Historical Romance of El Paso.
link goes to 2nd ed. 1924; 1923 ed. available on microfilm at Lied Library Microforms F591 .W4633x reel 596 no. 6172
Mills, W.W. Forty Years at El Paso
Directory of the City of El Paso, Texas 1900
John F. Worley & Co.'s El Paso Directory for 1903
John F. Worley & Co.'s El Paso Directory for 1906
El Paso Directory for 1907
El Paso Directory for 1908
Worley's Directory of El Paso, Texas, 1910
King, Ruth Nash, oral history interview transcript, Oral History Institute, Univ. of Texas at El Paso
U.S. Congress, Reports of the Immigration Commission, Abstracts of Reports of the Immigration Commission . . . , vol. 1, and Dictionary of Races of Peoples, vol. 5 (1911),

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

U.S. Congress, Committee on Immigration and Naturalization, Registration of Refugee Chinese, Hearings on S.J. Res. 33. . . (1921)
- This link opens in a new window
H.B. Wharfield. Apache Indian scouts; service in Arizona and Mexico against renegade Apaches...
Book could be borrowed via interlibrary loan but is not available online or at UNLV Libraries
Tena Ramirez, Felipe. Leyes Fundamentalies de Mexico, 1808-1994 (1994)
link requires Scribd account; free trial available. No print copies available locally.
U.S., Dept. of State, “Papers Related to the Foreign Relations of the United States with the Annual Message of the President Transmitted to Congress . . . ,” 4 separate dates: Dec. 7, 1911; Dec. 3, 1912; Dec. 5, 1916; Dec. 4, 1917
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States with the annual message of the president transmitted to Congress December 7, 1911
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States with the annual message of the president transmitted to Congress December 3, 1912
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the Untied States with the address of the president to Congress December 5, 1916
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States with the address of the president to Congress December 4, 1917
Immigration Act of 1917
- This link opens in a new window

Historical Newspapers: Washington Post, 1877-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Chapter 5

Hughes, Langston. I Wonder as I Wander.
- This link opens in a new window
print copy available in Lied Library Book Stacks PS3515.U274 Z58
U.S. Congress, Senate Committee on Immigration, “Emergency Immigration Legislation,” 1921
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congress, “An Act Relative to the Naturalization and Citizenship of Married Women,” 1922
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Congress, Expatriation Act (“An Act in Reference to the Expatriation of Citizens and Their Protection Abroad”), 1907
- This link opens in a new window

© University of Nevada Las Vegas