A historiographical essay discusses the way various historians have written about an event in their books and journal articles.
Going to the Sources
by
The "notes and bibliography" variant of Chicago style allows you to use numbered endnotes or footnotes in the places where APA and MLA styles use parenthetical in-text citations. There is also an option to use the "author/date" variation if you prefer parenthetical in-text citations.
Notes and bibliography example:
Algorithms of Oppression enumerates ways that discrimination is "embedded in computer code and, increasingly, in artificial intelligence technologies that we are reliant on, by choice or not."¹
¹ Safiya Umoja Noble, Algorithms of Oppression: How Search Engines Reinforce Racism, (New York: New York University Press, 2018), pp. 1-2.
Reference List
Noble, Safiya Umoja. Algorithms of Oppression: How Search Engines Reinforce Racism. New York: New York University Press. 2018.
![note 1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Article Title,” Title of Journal [vol. #], no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers. bibliography Author Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title.” Title of Journal [vol. #] no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers. Platform or URL/DOI.](http://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/30877/images/Screen_Shot_2020-07-21_at_10.25.31_AM.png)
Chicago 17th (notes & bibliography) journal article templates:
In footnote or endnote
1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Article Title,” Title of Journal [vol. #], no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers.
In bibliography entry
Author Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title.” Title of Journal [vol. #] no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers. Platform or URL/DOI.
Chicago 17th (notes & bibliography) book templates:
in footnote or endnote
1. Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book, (City: Publisher, Year), page numbers.
in bibliography entry
Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year. URL/DOI.
Chicago 17th (notes & bibliography) book chapter templates:
in footnote or endnote
1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Chapter of Book” in Title of Book, ed. Firstname Lastname, nth ed., (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers, URL/DOI.
in bibliography entry
Author Lastname, Firstname. “Chapter Title.” In Book, edited by Firstname Lastname. City: Publisher, Year. URL/DOI/Medium.
(screenshot of Chicago Manual of Style citation guide web site taken 7/21/20).
