Skip to main content

Bibliometrics and Altmetrics

This guide was created to help UNLV researchers navigate bibliometrics and altmetrics when trying to evaluate journals for publication or indicate their scholarship's impact.

About the H-index

The h-Index is a primary author level metric designed to measure research quality over time, and accounts for both the scholarly productivity and the research impact of the author. The h-Index is calculated as follows - H stands for the number of articles that have each been cited H number of times. So, an h-Index of 30 means that the author has published 30 articles that have each been cited 30+ times.

graphic representation of h-index calculation, with citations on the y axis and papers on the x axis.

 Image courtesy of Oregon State Libraries under CC-BY-SA 4.0 license


Top Databases to Find Your H-Index

Web of Science. Requires access through University Libraries database. 

Scopus. Requires access through University Libraries database.

Google Scholar. Freely available

Metrics Toolkit. Helps you Navigate the Research Metrics Landscape. It is a web resource for researchers and evaluators by providing guidance for demonstrating and evaluating research impact. It includes a section on the h-Index

Publish or Perish. A software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations, pulled from a variety of sources. It's calculations available include the h-index and the g-index. 

Finding Your h-index in Web of Science

Instructions to view h-index in Web of Science

 

  1. Navigate to University library website: www.library.unlv.edu
  2. On the right hand side of the screen under Research, select All Library Databases
  3. Next, click the letter “W” scroll down the list of databases and select Web of Science
  4. You will need to login with your ACE account
  5. Once in Web of Science add your name to the first search box in this order:
    last name, first initial (ex. Candela, L)

    Change the drop down menu to the right to Author
     
  6. Click the +Add Row to add an a row
  7. From the drop down menu select Organization-Enhanced in the search box type: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  8. Make sure you adjust the dates for publications you wish to retrieve (ex. 2000-2019)
  9. Click the blue Search button to run your search
  10. You will retrieve a list of your publications
  11. To view your h-index  look for Create Citation Report on the right hand side of the screen
  12. Click Create Citation Report
  13. Your h-index will display in the second box at the top of the screen see screen shot example below.

 

 

 

Instructions courtesy of Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health, and Public Health Librarian

Finding Your h-index in Google Scholar

Instructions to view h-index in Google Scholar

1. Navigate to Google Scholar: scholar.google.com
2. Enter name of author 
3. If a profile exists for the author it will appear at the top of the search results, click the name of the author and their profile page will open
4. View the h-index for the person on the right side of the screen.


       

 

Instructions courtesy of Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health, and Public Health Librarian

Finding Your h-index in Scopus

Instructions to view h-index using Scopus CiteScore Metrics

1. Navigate to University Libraries website: www.library.unlv.edu
2. On the right side of the screen under Research, select All Library Databases
3. Next, click the letter "S", scroll down the list of databases and select Scopus
4. You will need to login with your ACE account
5. Once in Scopus, select Authors, then enter your name Last Name first in the appropriate fields
6. Click the blue Search button to view h-index
7. Select Citation Overview to see the number of citations over a period of years


 

Instructions courtesy of Xan Goodman, Nursing, Allied Health, and Public Health Librarian

© University of Nevada Las Vegas