LibGuides: Addiction Careers Resource Guide: Library Guides

Nevada Licensing Boards for Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy, Social Workers and Alcohol & Drug Counselors

Links to Help with Licensing Examinations (Sample Exams,etc.)

Association of Social Work Boards
Includes practice tests, other info.
Possible Test Questions--NAADAC Certification Examination for Addiction Counselors
International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium Member Boards
IC&RC promotes public protection by offering internationally-recognized credentials and examinations for prevention, substance use treatment, and recovery professionals.
IC&RC Exam Preparation Candidate Guides
C&RC has developed Candidate Guides to provide candidates with guidance for the IC&RC examination process. Candidate Guides provide background information on the examination development and administration process.

Addiction Agencies & Associations

Addiction Technology Transfer Center Network (ATTC)
The ATTC is a nationwide, multidisciplinary resource for professionals in the addictions treatment and recovery services field.
American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry
Organization for professionals helping those with substance use disorders and mental health disorders. Website includes resources, organizational news, information about mentoring & scholarships, and more.
American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence
Professional organization formed to enhance the quality of patient care in treatment programs by promoting the growth and development of comprehensive opioid treatment services throughout the US.
American Society of Addiction Medicine
Professional society of physicians, clinicians & associated professionals in the field of addiction medicine.
American Society of Addiction Psychology
Promotes advances in research, professional training, and clinical practice within the broad range of addictive behaviors including problematic use of alcohol, nicotine and other drugs and disorders involving gambling, eating, sexual behavior or spending
Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse
The Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse (AMERSA), founded in 1976, is a non-profit professional organization whose mission is to improve health and well-being through interdisciplinary leadership in substance use education, research, clinical care and policy.
Center for the Application of Substance Abuse Technologies (CASAT)
Since 1993, CASAT has provided culturally appropriate, state-of-the-art, research-based training and technology transfer activities, academic courses, and managed large multi-state, multi-organizational projects.
Drug Enforcement Administration
Federal agency whose mission is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States. Website includes information about the organization, prevention strategies, drug information, etc.
International Association of Addictions and Offender Counselors
Organization of professional counselors and other interested individuals who work in the addictions or forensic / criminal justice fields and advocate for the appropriate treatment for such client populations.
International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium Member Boards
IC&RC promotes public protection by offering internationally-recognized credentials and examinations for prevention, substance use treatment, and recovery professionals.
International Nurses Society on Addictions
IntNSA is a professional specialty organization for nurses committed to the prevention, intervention, treatment, and management of addictive disorders including alcohol and other drug dependencies, nicotine dependencies, eating disorders, dual and multiple diagnosis, and process addictions such as gambling.
National Association of Addiction Professionals (NAADAC)
NAADC includes resources for professionals on training, conferences, certification, etc.
National Association of Addiction Treatment Providers
Website for addiction treatment providers that includes news about the organization & resources for members.
National Association of Drug Court Professionals
Provides news & resources for professionals that focus treatment & other issues for drug-using offenders.
National Center for Responsible Gaming
The National Center for Responsible Gaming (NCRG) focuses on funding research that helps increase understanding of pathological and youth gambling and find effective methods of treatment for the disorder. Site includes resources, news, and information on continuing education & conferences, .
National Council for Behavioral Health
"The National Council for Behavioral Health is the unifying voice of America’s community mental health and addictions treatment organizations." Website includes a policy action center, best practices & consultation resources, A to Z list of topics & training/event updates.
National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence
NCADD is a voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting alcoholism, drug addiction and the devastating consequences of alcohol and other drugs on individuals, families and communities. Website contains information & resources about addiction, as well as information for people in recovery and their families & friends
National Council on Problem Gambling
Provides information & resources to assist problem gamblers and their families. Also includes information on training, conferences, and certification for professionals.
National Institute of Drug Abuse (NIDA)
NIDA is the largest supporter of the world's research on drug abuse and addiction. Includes information on drugs of abuse, related topics, funding, and news & events.
Nevada Council on Problem Gambling
Website and the organization in general helps to generate awareness, promote education and advocate for quality treatment of problem gambling in the State of Nevada.
Nevada Substance Abuse Prevention & Treatment Agency (SAPTA)
SAPTA administers programs and activities that provide community-based prevention and treatment.
Office of National Drug Control Policy
A component of the Executive Office of the President, the ONDCP website focuses on policy & research issues, prevention, treatment & recovery issues, grants, and news updates.
SAMHSA (Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration)
SAMHSA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. Website includes extensive list of topics, data resources, grants, publications and information on help & treatment.
Society of Addiction Psychology
Promotes advances in research, professional training, and clinical practice within the broad range of addictive behaviors including problematic use of alcohol, nicotine and other drugs and disorders involving gambling, eating, sexual behavior or spending.
Southern Nevada Association of Addiction Professionals (SNAAP)
SNAAP is dedicated to the development of addiction focus professionals by unifying and empowering them to achieve professional excellence through education ethics in diversity and standards of practices through professional development and research.
Substance Abuse Policy Research Program
SAPRP's mission is to fund substance abuse policy research that can help reduce the harm caused by the use of alcohol, tobacco, and drugs in the US. Includes program information, grantee resources, media resources, and policy resources.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
"The mission of the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) is to contribute to the achievement of security and justice for all by making the world safer from crime, drugs and terrorism." The UNODC website includes extensive resources about drug abuse prevention, drug dependence treatment and criminal justice reform.
UNLV - Student Organization of Addiction Professionals (SOAP)
The Student Organization of Addiction Professionals is a CSUN recognized organization dedicated to the support and development of future addictions professionals.

UNLV Behavioral Health Programs

UNLV Addictions-Related Courses

UNLV Faculty Researching Addiction

Learning about Addiction-Related Careers

Learn about a Career in Addictions
NATTC site includes information on careers in addictions, education, salaries, and more.
OOH: Social and Human Services Assistants
Information on working conditions, salaries, future projections in these specific fields.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
Information (including salaries, working conditions, future projections, etc.) about a wide variety of addictions-related careers.
OOH: Counselors
Includes information on working conditions, educational requirements, salaries, and job projections for the counseling field (including substance abuse counselors).
National Substance Abuse Network: Stories from the Drug & Alcohol Addiction Front
Addiction professionals share their experiences and insights earned from years of helping alcoholics and drug addicts overcome addiction.
O*NET: Social and Human Service Assistants
Includes information on tasks, tools & technologies, knowledge, skills, work activities, etc., for social & human services assistants.
O*NET: Rehabilitation Counselors
Includes information on tasks, tools & technologies, knowledge, skills, work activities, etc., for rehabilitation counselors.
O*Net: Substance Abuse and Behavioral Disorder Counselors
Includes information on tasks, tools & technologies, knowledge, skills, work activities, etc., for substance abuse & behavioral disorder counselors.
O*Net: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
Includes information on tasks, tools & technologies, knowledge, skills, work activities, etc., for mental health & substance abuse social workers.

Peer-Reviewed Journals Related to Addictions

Web/Open Source Journals

Addiction and Health
Addiction and Health is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal in English. This publication offers an opportunity to researchers to publish findings of their research into the impact of addiction, in its broad sense, on health, of any sort, in all areas of psychiatry, psychology, medicine, etc.
International Journal of High Risk Behaviors and Addiction
International Journal of High Risk Behaviors and Addiction is a clinical journal which is informative to all fields related to the high risk behaviors, addiction, including smoking, alcohol consumption and substance abuse, unsafe sexual behavior, obesity and unhealthy eating habits, physical inactivity, and violence, suicidal behavior, and self-injurious behaviors.
ISRN Addiction
ISRN Addiction is a for fee, peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies related to all aspects of addiction.
Journal Nordic Studies on Alcohol and Drugs
Nordic Studies on Alcohol and Drugs (with six issues per year, in English and Scandinavian languages) is a journal for social science research on alcohol and drugs, tobacco and gambling and their related policies. The journal is published in English and Scandinavian languages.
Journal of Gambling Issues
The Journal of Gambling Issues provides a scientific forum for developments in gambling-related research, policy issues, and treatment.

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Career Advice, Resume Samples, etc.

Addiction Career Videos

DrKit.org: So You Want to Be a Substance Abuse Therapist
"A Substance Abuse Therapist discusses her typical day at work, the qualifications needed for the job, the best and worst parts."
What Employers Look for in Addiction Counselors
"At a recent meeting of industry experts reviewing national certification examination standards for addiction professionals, several panel members shared their thoughts about qualities they look for in addiction counselors."

Addiction Careers Resource Guide: Library Guides

Nevada Licensing Boards for Psychology, Marriage and Family Therapy, Social Workers and Alcohol & Drug Counselors

Links to Help with Licensing Examinations (Sample Exams,etc.)

Addiction Agencies & Associations

UNLV Behavioral Health Programs

UNLV Addictions-Related Courses

UNLV Faculty Researching Addiction

Learning about Addiction-Related Careers

Peer-Reviewed Journals Related to Addictions

Web/Open Source Journals

Urban Affairs Librarian

Career Advice, Resume Samples, etc.

Addiction Career Videos

Locations

Contact