LibGuides: URST 441: Intergovernmental Relations in Urban Studies (Brekken): Library Guides

Library Research Databases & Google Scholar

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic brings together a variety of databases to provide access to a diverse and multidisciplinary research collection.
The database provides access to ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, Academic Complete and ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global. Users will have access to journal articles, streaming media, ebooks and dissertations and theses from all major subject areas, including business, health and medical (including nursing), social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science, engineering and religion.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.

Finding Government Information Tutorial

Finding Government Information, Letislation, etc.

One easy way to find official government information is on Google. After you type in your keywords, add site:.gov to your search, such as:
"crime statistics" site:.gov

"Flinit Michigan water crisis" site:.gov

Then, you will find federal, state, and local government resources.

Government Information Resource Guide-UNLV Libraries
Data & Statistics--UNLV Libraries
Data & Statistics--UNLV Libraries
Nevada Laws, Codes, and Court Rules
Congress.gov
Presented by the Library of Congress, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information.
Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS): Information about the Nevada legislative current session as well as past sessions, search for your representatives, and more.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress.

Think Tanks & Policy-Related Web Resources

A think tank or policy institute is a research institute which performs research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture. Although many think tanks claim to be neutral, some may be considered to have a more conservative or a more liberal agenda. For example, the Cato Institute is a libertarian think tank and the Heritage Foundation is considered to be conservative. Be sure to examine the "About the Organization" page, in addition to outside sources to investigate the organization's agenda and their political views.

Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.

Tips: Search these selected think tanks by keywords to find research and analysis.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.

Think Tank Search--Harvard
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks.
Brookings
Brookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development.
Brookings Mountain West
"Brookings Mountain West is a partnership between UNLV and the Washington, D.C.-based Brookings Institution. The purpose of Brookings Mountain West is to bring the Brookings tradition of high-quality, independent, and impactful research to the issues facing the dynamic and fast-growing Intermountain West region."
The Lincy Institute
"The Lincy Institute is a research institute organized to conduct and support research that focuses on improving Nevada’s health, education, and social services."
Annenberg Public Policy Center
This policy center produces research that looks at the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, chlid development, health care, civics and mental health, and other areas.
Annie E. Casey Foundation- KIDS COUNT
KIDS COUNT is a national and state-by-state project of the Casey Foundation to track the status of children in the United States.
CATO Institute
CATO's education research is founded on the principle that parents are best suited to make important decisions regarding the care and education of their children.
Center for American Progress
The Center for American Progress is a progressive think-tank dedicated to improving the lives of Americans through ideas and action.
Center on Education Policy
The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools.
Center for Law & Social Policy
"The Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP) is a national, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization advancing policy solutions for low-income people."
Center for Strategic & International Studies
An international policy institute, the CSIS focuses on a number of topics including defense and security, governance, technology and global trends.
The Children's Defense Fund
"The Children’s Defense Fund Leave No Child Behind® mission is to ensure every child a Healthy Start, a Head Start, a Fair Start, a Safe Start and a Moral Start in life and successful passage to adulthood with the help of caring families and communities."
Goldwater Institute- Center for Educational Opportunity
Arizona-based think tank. Broad areas of research include expansion of charter schools, education tax credits and vouchers, and the regulatory climate for alternative and independent schools
Hoover Institution
Produces the journal "Education Next."
Human Rights Campaign
"The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer equality."
MDRC
Created in 1974 by the Ford Foundation and a group of federal agencies, MDRC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan education and social policy research organization dedicated to learning what works to improve programs and policies that affect the poor.
Mathematica Policy Research
"Mathematica Policy Research is a pioneering nonpartisan research organization dedicated to improving public well-being."
National Bureau of Economic Research
A "private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. NBER-affiliated researchers study a wide range of topics and they employ many different methods in their work. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies."
New America
New America, formerly the New America Foundation, is a non-partisan think tank in the United States. It focuses on a range of public policy issues, including national security studies, technology, asset building, health, gender, energy, education, and the economy.
Policy Archive
This collection of public policy research is gathered from sources such as the American Bar Association, the Brookings Institution, the Ford Foudnation, the Institute for Policy Studies, and others.
RAND.org
RAND's research and analysis address issues that impact people around the world including security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development.
Social Work Policy Institute
"The Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services."
Urban Institute
The Urban Institute is a Washington D.C.-based think tank that carries out economic and social policy research to "open minds, shape decisions, and offer solutions."

The Affordable Care Act: Research and analyze the Medicaid expansion component of this legislation, or the 2012 U.S. Supreme Court ruling

Colorado Compact 2019 Drought Contingent Agreement

Texas v. Pennsylvania

Flint Michigan Water Crisis

Help with APA Citation Style

Citation Manager Showdown: Comparison of Mendeley, Refworks, and Zotero

Citation Manager Showdown: Comparison of Mendeley, Refworks, and Zotero
Great overview & details of three different citation managers available through UNLV Libraries!

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

URST 441: Intergovernmental Relations in Urban Studies (Brekken): Library Guides