LibGuides: SW785: Special Topics in Advanced Policy (Aldaba): Library Guides

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

Quick Search searches for books and e-books, journal articles, videos, newspaper articles and more in UNLV's databases and collections.

Why should you sign in with your ACE Account?
see more search results (some databases only show results when you're signed in)
save and organize library records (items) for easy reference
save searches to come back to later
access search history for current session
access account information

UNLV Library Databases

EBSCO Databases
More than 30 databases indexing all subject areas with a heavy focus on business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports.
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Academic Search Premier
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
PAIS International
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Social Work Abstracts
1977-
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Journal articles about all areas of social work from professional journals.
Update frequency: semi-annually
From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
Social Services Abstracts
1950s-
Abstracts of current research in social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
Social Services Abstracts identify and summarize current research in social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
CQ Researcher
Good for: Controversial topics in social issues, environment, health, education, science, and technology.
Contains: Reports with information about all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank)
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.
Newspaper Source Plus
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
Education Full Text
Good for: Researching education topics.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Professional Development Collection
Specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals and educational reports.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar Settings
If you want to use Google Scholar as one of your search tools, this linked document describes how to update the Google Scholar settings to tie it to the subscriptions you have access to through UNLV and other libraries.

Finding Government Information

Google is an easy way to find official government information. After you type in your keywords, add site:gov to the search.

For example:
food stamp statistics site:.gov

Then, you will limit your search to .gov sites (mostly federal, but also some state & local resources). You may also want to limit your .gov search to the last 3 to 5 years for the most current information.
Finding Government Information Tutorial: Tutorial on how to find government information

Research Institutes, Think Tanks

Harvard Think Tank Search
A very useful portal from Harvard that allows searching through various think tanks.
Brookings
Brookings conducts research and education in the social sciences, primarily in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development.
Urban Institute
he Urban Institute is a Washington D.C.-based think tank that carries out economic and social policy research to "open minds, shape decisions, and offer solutions."
RAND.org
RAND's research and analysis address issues that impact people around the world including security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development.
New America
New America, formerly the New America Foundation, is a non-partisan think tank in the United States. It focuses on a range of public policy issues, including national security studies, technology, asset building, health, gender, energy, education, and the economy.
Mathematica Policy Research
"Mathematica Policy Research is a pioneering nonpartisan research organization dedicated to improving public well-being."
MDRC
MDRC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan education and social policy research organization based in New York City and Oakland, CA.
The Human Rights Campaign
"The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer equality."
The Children's Defense Fund
"The Children’s Defense Fund Leave No Child Behind® mission is to ensure every child a Healthy Start, a Head Start, a Fair Start, a Safe Start and a Moral Start in life and successful passage to adulthood with the help of caring families and communities."
Center for Law & Social Policy
"The Center for Law and Social Policy (CLASP) is a national, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization advancing policy solutions for low-income people."
Social Work Policy Institute
"The Social Work Policy Institute (SWPI) is a think tank established within the NASW Foundation. It examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.:
Center for Strategic & International Studies
An international policy institute, the CSIS focuses on a number of topics including defense and security, governance, technology and global trends.
Policy Archive
This collection of public policy research is gathered from sources such as the American Bar Association, the Brookings Institution, the Ford Foudnation, the Institute for Policy Studies, and others.

Creating Policy Briefs--Information & Guides

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

SW785: Special Topics in Advanced Policy (Aldaba): Library Guides

SW785 PowerPoint