LibGuides: SWK 707: Diversity Issues: SW Practice with LGBT Individuals & Families (Lytel): Library Guides

Searching for Your Topic

As you begin searching for your topic on Quick Search, library databases, and Google Scholar, remember to search a variety of keywords and synonyms. Also try a wide variety of keyword combinations.

Let's say you wanted to research LBGT foster care parents. Try to come up with keywords and synonyms, such as the following:

LGBT parents
gay parents
transgender
queer
foster care
discrimination
child welfare

Then, think of how you might want to combine the keywords, such as:

LGBT parents AND foster care AND discrimination
foster parenting AND lesbians
gay parents AND foster care placements
LGBT OR GAY and foster care

Try UNLV Libraries Quick Search

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
You can limit to scholarly/peer reviewed journals on Quick Search & also limit to the Social Work discipline.

UNLV Libraries Databases

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) studies is an emerging, rapidly-growing field of scholarship. The sources listed in this guide offer an entry point to resources that focus primarily on various aspects of LGBT studies. However, because this is an interdisciplinary area of research, relevant materials can be found in a wide range of databases which do not have a specific LGBT studies focus.

Below are several databases that may be useful in searching for scholarly articles related to LBGT topics. Please note: For the EBSCO databases (such as LGBT Life with FullText or Academic Search Premier) you can search for numerous databases at one time.

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 databases indexing all subject areas with a heavy focus on business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports.
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs/books.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1963-
Citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers in sociology.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
Sociological Abstracts provides access to worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Included are citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers. The database includes research within the following topics: anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1977-
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Journal articles about all areas of social work from professional journals.
Update frequency: semi-annually
From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1974-
Publications on gender issues. International publications as well as reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings devoted to gender issues.
Update frequency: quarterly

LGBT History Resources

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940-present
Primary sources from more than 35 countries related to LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Be sure to click on Settings, then click on Library Links--and type in University of Nevada, Las Vegas (and also type in UNLV separately) so that you can be directed back to the UNLV Library databases.

You may want to click on Cited By or Related Articles to locate similar articles on your topic.

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

SWK 707: Diversity Issues: SW Practice with LGBT Individuals & Families (Lytel): Library Guides