LibGuides: PUA 725: Program Evaluation (Heen): Resource Guide

UNLV Libraries Video Tutorials

UNLV Libraries Video Tutorials
Check out a wide variety of tutorials about the Libraries, the research process, and more! Here's a preview of one below:

Program Evaluation E-Books

Finding Peer Reviewed Articles on Your Topic

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

PAIS International
Good for: Finding information on public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1972-present.

From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories. Use it to locate journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
EBSCO Databases
Good for: Selecting from a list of EBSCO databases to use for researching various subjects Contains: Database descriptions and links

Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. Most databases contain full text articles from academic journals. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously.
JSTOR
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more. Also includes ARTSTOR collections from museums and collections of historical primary sources from libraries and cultural heritage organizations.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Good for: Analyzing business trends and company information.
Contains: Articles and reports on advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
ProQuest One Academic
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal articles, streaming media, e-books and dissertations and theses.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar/Settings

Finding Government Information

One of the easiest ways to find government information is via Google: After you type in your keywords, then type: site:.gov

This will narrow your search to only federal, state, and local government resources.

For example, you could try the following keyword searches:

"crime statistics" site:.gov
homeless veterans site:.gov

Government Information Resource Guide (UNLV Libraries)

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional)
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.

Guides & Handouts for ProQuest Congressional & Executive Branch Documents
Video: Short ProQuest Congressional Tutorial
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. In 2018 they stood up a public website for dissemination of their more recent reports, and there are a number of free and subscription sites where you can find current and older CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.

CQ Magazine
Good for: Staying informed about current politics and new legislation in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
Contains: Weekly roundup of congressional activity.
Dates covered: 1983-current date.

Tutorial: Finding Government Information

Program Evaluation Examples

Program Evaluation Web Resources

Introduction to Program Evaluation (Michigan State University)

American Evaluation Association
This organization has information on their web site on program evaluation, including newsletters, links of interest, links to evaluation course syllabi, links to their listserv, links to evaluation blogs, and more.
Children, Youth, and Families At-Risk (CYFAR): An evaluation website that offers interactive tools and vetted resources designed to build the evaluation capacity of program providers, practitioners, and evaluators, especially those working with at-risk youth and families. Includes a searchable collection of evaluation instruments.

Data Playbook: A tool for guiding the collection and use of data.

Evaluation Activities in Organizations - Free Management Library: A business management site which collects useful links on specific topics. This site offers many links providing overviews related to various types of evaluation, guidelines to program evaluation and general resources.

Candid: Measure Results: This collection includes suggested readings from BetterEvaluation, the Center for Evaluation Innovation, the Center for Effective Philanthropy, and Grantmakers for Effective Organizations as well as hand-picked content by Candid. Thousands of actual evaluations are available for download.

Robert R. McCormick Foundation Program Evaluation Guide: A brief, 21-page guide to program evaluation for non-profits.

Western Michigan University Evaluation Center: The Evaluation Center site offers downloadable evaluation checklists, models of evaluation and other tools which have been peer-reviewed.

APA Style Resources

APA Overview: PPT (updated for 7th Edition), including potentially tricky examples such as book chapters and secondary citations.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Style Guide: This is a dependable site for APA questions. Look for their Sample Paper, too.

Other Resources:

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from APA
Free DOI Lookup Tool
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Is it Plagiarism Yet? (Purdue OWL)
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.

RefWorks

RefWorks
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Learn more on the RefWorks Basics page.

ProQuest RefWorks Extensive Guide

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper

RefWorks Instructions

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

PUA 725: Program Evaluation (Heen): Resource Guide