LibGuides: PUA 701: Governance and the Urban Community (DiNicola): Library Guides

UNLV Libraries Video Tutorials

UNLV Libraries Video Tutorials
Check out a wide variety of tutorials about the Libraries, the research process, and more! Here's a preview of one below:

Finding Peer Reviewed Articles on Your Topic

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 databases indexing all subject areas with a heavy focus on business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports.
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic brings together a variety of databases to provide access to a diverse and multidisciplinary research collection.
The database provides access to ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, Academic Complete and ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global. Users will have access to journal articles, streaming media, ebooks and dissertations and theses from all major subject areas, including business, health and medical (including nursing), social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science, engineering and religion.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar/Settings

Finding Government Information

One of the easiest ways to find government information is via Google: After you type in your keywords, then type: site:.gov

This will narrow your search to only federal, state, and local government resources.

For example, you could try the following keyword searches:

"crime statistics" site:.gov
homeless veterans site:.gov

Government Information Resource Guide (UNLV Libraries)

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.

Guides & Handouts for ProQuest Congressional & Executive Branch Documents
Use this guide for information on how to search in the Congressional interface, and for links to information on the digital collections.
Video: Short ProQuest Congressional Tutorial

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. In 2018 they stood up a public website for dissemination of their more recent reports, and there are a number of free and subscription sites where you can find current and older CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.

CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1983-
Comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
Excellent source of current information on hot legislative topics in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate.

Finding White Papers

Finding White Papers & Policy Briefs: Below are some resources to find a variety of white papers & policy briefs:

National Bureau of Research (NBER) Working Papers
New research by NBER affiliates, circulated for discussion and comment. The NBER distributes more than 1,200 working papers each year. These papers have not been peer reviewed. Papers issued more than 18 months ago are open access.
CRS Reports
These documents were prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress.
Policy Archive
Policy briefs and research from sources such as the American Bar Association, the Brookings Institution, the Ford Foundation, the Institute for Policy Studies, and others.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Policy briefs and research on the role of communication in politics, adolescent behavior, child development, health care, civics and mental health, and other areas.
Rand Corporation
Provides research in a variety of areas such as arts, civil justice, education, national security, public safety, and other areas.

Literature Review Resources--Resource Guide Link and Video Tutorial

Writing a Literature Review
Resource guide that walks you through the literature review process.

APA Style Resources

APA Overview: PPT (updated for 7th Edition), including potentially tricky examples such as book chapters and secondary citations.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Style Guide: This is a dependable site for APA questions. Look for their Sample Paper, too.

Other Resources:

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from APA
Free DOI Lookup Tool
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Is it Plagiarism Yet? (Purdue OWL)
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.

RefWorks

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

ProQuest RefWorks Extensive Guide

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper

RefWorks Instructions

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

PUA 701: Governance and the Urban Community (DiNicola): Library Guides

PUA 701 PowerPoint--Searching and Finding Resources