LibGuides: PBH 205: Introduction to Public Health: Introduction to Public Health

Xan Goodman, Nursing, Integrated Health Sciences & Public Health Librarian

Xan Goodman, SON, IHS, SPH, SDM Health Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154
Office 1184

702-895-2233

Subjects: Allied Health, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Nursing, Nutrition

Research Article Databases

PUBLIC HEALTH RESOURCES:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles about alternative medicine topics, including, yoga, mindfulness and other complementary therapies.
Update frequency: quarterly
Alt Health Watch offers abstracts or full text of nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters about complementary and alternative medicine. Covers such areas of alternative medicine as acupuncture, chiropractic, aromatherapy, naturopathy, homeopathy, osteopathy, and numerous cross-cultural therapies.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A popular source to locate nursing and allied health literature.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.

PBH 205 Web and Media Resources

What is Public Health
Visit the American Public Health Association to learn more about public health.
Unnatural Causes
PBS documentary focusing on causes of illness that are not usually addressed.
BRFSS
Center for Disease Control and Prevention's public health inquiry tool.
YouTube Channel - Unnatural Causes
YouTube subscription channel for unnatural causes.

The Research Process

Anatomy of a Research Article
Distinguishing Source Types
Learn criteria for differentiating between common source types.

PBH205 Books

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
Call Number: RC265.6.L24 S55 2011
ISBN: 1400052181
Publication Date: 2011-03-08

The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Call Number: RC133.G6 J64 2006
ISBN: 9781594489259
Publication Date: 2006-10-19

PBH 205: Introduction to Public Health: Introduction to Public Health

Xan Goodman, Nursing, Integrated Health Sciences & Public Health Librarian

Research Article Databases

PBH 205 Web and Media Resources

The Research Process

PBH205 Books

Locations

Contact