LibGuides: Non-Profit Community Leadership Institute (NCLI): Library Guides

Background Information

Advocacy Practice for Social Justice
Call Number: HV40 .H628 2016

Effective advocacy in social work (Ebook)

Social Work, Public Policy, and Interdisciplinary Databases

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1977-
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Journal articles about all areas of social work from professional journals.
Update frequency: semi-annually
From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides citations to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. Use this resource to search all issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Journal articles recording research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1978-
Abstracts on social gerontology. Also includes health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), this database includes citations with abstracts drawn from the literature in social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. Health care, public policy, employment and consumer issues are particularly well-covered.

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Tracking & Following Legislation

Look for articles written before the legislation was passed. Check the relevant year volumes of CQ library and Press sources to see who, what and why the legislation was introduced.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1983-
Comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
Excellent source of current information on hot legislative topics in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resources on public policy and American government, including deep dives into hot topics for policymakers in CQ Researcher Plus Archive and brief legislative analysis in the CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly).
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative Insight includes all congressional publications that pertain to an enacted law, 1929 to current and includes all bills, reports, hearings documents and signing statements.

Guides & Handouts for ProQuest Congressional & Executive Branch Documents
Use this guide for information on how to search in the Congressional interface, and for links to information on the digital collections.
Video: Short ProQuest Congressional Tutorial

NELIS (Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System)
Information about the current session as well as past sessions, search for your representatives, and more.

Policy-Related Resources, Gov Sources, and Nonpartisan Sources

GAO Reports: The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. The work of the GAO is done at the request of congressional committees or subcommittees or is mandated by pubic laws or committee reports. They also undertake research under the authority of the Comptroller General. They support congressional oversight by: (1) auditing agency operations to determine if federal funds are spent efficiently & effectively; (2) investigating allegations of illegal or improper activities; (3) reporting on how well government programs & policies are meeting objectives; (4) performing policy analyses and outlining options for congressional considerations; and (5) issuing legal decisions and opinions.

Committee on Ways an Means House of Representatives Green Book: The Green Book has become a valuable resource and standard reference on American social policy. It is widely used by Members of Congress and their staffs, analysts in congressional and administrative agencies, members of the media, scholars, and citizens interested in the Nation's social policy.

Congress.gov
This site, formerly known as Thomas.gov, from the Library of Congress provides legislative information including bill tracking, presidential nominations, the text of committee reports, and other information.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a division of the Library of Congress. They produce analytical, non-partisan reports on topics of interest to members of Congress. In 2018 they stood up a public website for dissemination of their more recent reports, and there are a number of free and subscription sites where you can find current and older CRS reports. You can also request copies from your Congressional Representative.

Think Tank Search--Harvard
From Harvard's Kennedy School of Government library; custom Google search + list of hundreds of US and international think tanks

Think tanks are defined by the above as institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.

Tips: Search these selected think tanks by keywords to find research and analysis.
If one seems most relevant to your topic, go to the home page and mine the site for publications, issues, research, and links to other organizations.
American Policy Directory (Univ. of Oregon)

Center for Strategic & International Studies
http://csis.org
An international policy institute, the CSIS focuses on a number of topics including defense and security, governance, technology and global trends.

Policy Archive
http://www.policyarchive.org
This collection of public policy research is gathered from sources such as the American Bar Association, the Brookings Institution, the Ford Foudnation, the Institute for Policy Studies, and others.

RAND Institute
http://www.rand.org
The RAND institute provides research in a variety of areas such as arts, civil justice, education, national security, public safety, and other areas.

Non-Profit Community Leadership Institute (NCLI): Library Guides

Check Out the PPY 710 Resource Guide!

Background Information

Social Work, Public Policy, and Interdisciplinary Databases

Urban Affairs Librarian

Tracking & Following Legislation

Policy-Related Resources, Gov Sources, and Nonpartisan Sources

Researching Community Partnerships

Locations

Contact