JOUR 488: Forms of Journalistic Writing (Easter): Library Guides

Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information. 

Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.

Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.

Contains: Article text (no images).

Dates covered: 1996-present.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1851-2021.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1849-2015.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1881-2016.

Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.

Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.

Dates covered: 1980s-present.

Good for: Searching scholarship about the history of the United States and Canada.

Contains: Citations to journal articles and books by historians and social scientists.

Dates covered: 1955 - current.

Good for: Learning about notable people from all time periods and areas of study.

Contains: Images, brief biographies, and links to magazine articles and websites.

Good for: Studying popular culture in the US and Britain through music and alternative publications. 

Contains: Primary sources. 

Dates covered: 1950-1975.

Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries. 

Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.

Dates covered: 1880-2015.

Good for: Searching articles that analyze film, television and aspects of popular culture.

Contains: Articles published in scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Good for: Researching fashion and culture.

Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.

Dates covered: 1892-present.

Good for: Studying fashion industry history and trends.

Contains: Trade publication Women’s Wear Daily.

Dates covered: 1910-present.