LibGuides: JOUR 401/JMS 601: The First Amendment and Society (Bates): Library Guides

UNLV Library Databases

UNLV Libraries Quick Searcb
Quick Search searches for books and e-books, journal articles, videos, newspaper articles and more in UNLV's databases and collections.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Great databases for newspapers, legal news, law reviews, and US Federal & state case law.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2020
Historical New York newspaper.
New York Times, 1980 - current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980-
Full text of articles only; includes New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine from 1997 forward.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.
Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900-
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery services are displayed.
Google Scholar Settings
If you want to use Google Scholar as one of your search tools, this linked document describes how to update the Google Scholar settings to tie it to the subscriptions you have access to through UNLV and other libraries.

First Amendment Resources

First Amendment Center
This site provides access to comprehensive research covering key First Amendment issues and topics. Included is commentary and analysis by legal specialists as well as a library of related legal cases and materials.
Supreme Court Cases - List from The First Amendment Center
American Library Association - Notable First Amendment Court Cases
The First Amendment Handbook
Knight First Amendment Institute
"The Knight First Amendment Institute defends the freedoms of speech and the press in the digital age through strategic litigation, research, and public education"
First Amendment Activities
A United States Courts site with landmark Supreme Court cases that can be applied to contemporary scenarios related to "the five pillars of the First Amendment and your rights to freedom of religion, speech, press, assembly and petition"
Free Speech-The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)
A Journalists Guide to the Federal Courts
This site provides information for journalists who cover the federal court system.
Reporters Committee on Freedom of the Press
This organization provides free legal help to reporters and news organizations. On the website you can access important information resources such as the First Amendment Handbook and the Guide to Journalist Shield Laws.