LibGuides: JOUR 375X Social Media Strategies (Morse): Library Guides

Finding Articles: Social Media Starting Points

Wikipedia
Although of course you would never use Wikipedia as one of your cited sources--you still might check it out for their reference lists. For social media platforms, many Wikipedia entries have an extensive reference lists with credible sources.
Google
Obviously, you will find massive amounts of social media-related information on Google. Remember to look out for currency, authority, accuracy of the site. To narrow your search, click on Tools--then limit by time period.
Ad Age
Publication describes itself as "a daily must-read for an influential audience of decision makers and disruptors across the marketing and media landscape."
AdWeek
a weekly American advertising trade publication that was first published in 1978. Adweek covers creativity, client–agency relationships, global advertising, accounts in review, and new campaigns.
Forbes
Forbes is a global media company, focusing on business, investing, technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and lifestyle. Includes a tab for social media resources.
Mashable
"Mashable is a global, multi-platform media and entertainment company. Powered by its own proprietary technology, Mashable is the go-to source for tech, digital culture and entertainment content for its dedicated and influential audience around the globe."
Pew Research Center--Social Media
Reports and articles focusing on social media on the Pew Research Center.
Social Media Examiner
Describes itself as: "The world’s largest social media marketing resource, Social Media Examiner® helps millions of businesses discover how to best use social media to connect with customers, drive traffic, generate awareness, and increase sales."
Social Media Explorer
Mission: To make social media and digital marketing more accessible to all companies and individuals.
Social Media Today
Focuses on news/updates on the social media industry & provides original analysis.
TechCrunch-Social
TechCrunch is an American online publisher of technology industry news founded in 2005. The site's "Social" section has a wide range of resources on social media platforms.

Entrepreneur.com--Social Media

Social media articles from Entrepreneur.com, an American magazine and website that carries news stories about entrepreneurship, small business management, and business.
Social Networking--New York Times

NYT coverage of social networking/social media articles & features.
Media Shift--Social Networking

Mediashift's selected resources that discuss the evolving effects of the social networking phenomenon on the business world.

Journalism/Marketing/Newspaper Databases

When searching through databases, you may want to limit your searching to trade publications.

Trade publications (journals and mag) can be defined as publications containing current news, developments and products in a specific industry. Trade publications focus on practical information for professionals working in the field or industry. (Examples: Ad Age, AdWeek)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Try keywords such as Twitter and marketing; Instagram and followers, etc.
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Mintel Market Research Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International reports on consumer products and industries. All users who register and create a profile must use their university email address.
Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
Search by time period, publication type, by discipline, and more.

Local Sources

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Social Media Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.

Social Media & Society

Is Social Media Destroying Society? This Former Facebook VP Says Yes (but There's a Solution)
Searched: social media and society on Google & limited it to the last year

Facebook

Facebook Promises to Start Telling You When You're Facebooking Too Much
Searched for the keyword: Facebook on the AdAge search box

Brand Voice

Establishing Your Brand Voice on Social Media
Searched keyword: brand voice on AdWeek link (found on this guide)

Analytics/SEO

8 SEO and Social Media Trends You Need to Know About
Searched keyword: SEO on the Entrepreneur.com website link on this guide

Instagram

4 Ways to Measure Success on Instagram
Searched keyword: Instagram on Media Shift link found on this guide

Review Sites

How to Embrace Online Review Sites
Found on Google search using keywords "review sites" & limiting search to the last year

Influencers

Why Micro-Influencers Are a Social Media Marketing Imperative for 2017
Used Academic Search Premier database & limited it to Trade Publications. Searched keywords: social media and influencers

Pinterest, Snapchat, etc.

Latest Pew Research Data Shows Snapchat Continues to Maintain Hold on Younger Audiences
Searched SocialMediaToday.com & used the keyword: Pinterest

5 Predictions for Social Media Marketing on LinkedIn in 2018
Went to socialmediatoday.com & typed in keywords: LinkedIn and social meda

YouTube

Survey: YouTube Is America's Most Popular Social Media Platform
Went to Forbes.com & typed keywords: YouTube and social media in the search box.

Social Media Monitoring/Analytics

Samples of Social Media Professional Interviews

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

JOUR 375X Social Media Strategies (Morse): Library Guides