LibGuides: JOUR 332: Media Planning & Buying (Jungblut)

Tesla Reports, Articles, Interviews, etc.

Log on with your UNLV Ace Account to access these reports & articles.

Telsa Info & Reports from Statista database
By simply typing in Tesla in the Statista database search box, you will find several data points, reports, etc. about the Tesla company.
The Cost of Elon Musk's Model 3 Vision
Tesla finally hits Elon Musk's target for the Model 3
Tesla Model 3 Sales: How Many Will Tesla Sell In 2019?
Tesla Model 3 Sales Shatter All Records In December 2018
Number of Tesla vehicles delivered worldwide from 3rd quarter 2015 to 4th quarter 2018 (in units)
Tesla Counts on Model 3 for Profit
Driving Against the Tide: The Case of Tesla Motors
What Tesla's Typical Shopper Looks Like (Hint: They Like Mickey Mouse)
Tesla-CarSalesBase.com
Tesla’s latest challenge is finding new customers for the Model 3

Finding Information on Ocean Spray brand, Millennials, etc.

UNLV Quick Search
Several ways to investigate Tesla & competitors--including trade publications, newspaper articles, market research, etc. Click on FORMAT & choose. Also can limit by discipline (such as business, communication/journalism, etc.)
Google News: Tesla
Using the keywords Tesla, here's a link to Google News that is updated daily. You could also set up alerts for Elon Musk or other Tesla-related keywords.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Good for: Analyzing business trends and company information.
Contains: Articles and reports on advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Business Source Elite
Good for: Researching business, management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Contains: Scholarly journals, business periodicals, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Nexis Uni
Click on Get Company Info for financial & other company-related details

The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Best Practice Cases in Branding by Kevin Lane Keller
Call Number: HD69.B7 K452 2008 (3rd floor, Lied Library)

ISBN: 9780131888654

Publication Date: 2007-01-08
The Science and Art of Branding by Giep Franzen; Sandra Moriarty
Call Number: HF5415.1255 .F73 2009

ISBN: 9780765617910

Publication Date: 2008-10-01

This innovative work provides a state-of-the-art overview of current thinking about the development of brand strategy. Unlike other books on branding, it approaches successful brand strategy from both the producer and consumer perspectives. "The Science and Art of Branding" makes clear distinctions among the producer's intentions, external brand realities, and consumer's brand perceptions - and explains how to fit them all together to build successful brands. Co-author Sandra Moriarty is also the author of the leading Principles of Advertising textbook, and she and Giep Franzen have filled this volume with practical learning tools for scholars and students of marketing and marketing communications, as well as actual brand managers. The book explains theoretical concepts and illustrates them with real-life examples that include case studies and findings from large-scale market research. Every chapter opens with a mini-case history, and boxed inserts featuring quotes from experts appear throughout the book. "The Science and Art of Branding" also goes much more deeply than other works into the core concept of brand equity, employing new measurement systems only developed over the last few years.

Industry & Market Research Databases

Market Research.com
Good for: Market profile studies covering industries including consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, healthcare, technology, media, manufacturing, and many others.
Contains: Market research reports.

MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to a library of 200+ page market profile studies from Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information (SBI) covering industries including consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, healthcare, technology, media, manufacturing, and many others. Reports include extensive background information, forecasts and analyses on the topic, statistics, charts, graphs and tables. Reports are added to the service within 12 months after they are released to commercial clients.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Good for: Accessing industry market research, company reports, and economic reports.
Contains: Industry market research, company reports, and economic reports.

Consumer Information Resources Databases

D&B Hoovers
Good for: Researching global company information.
Contains: Current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information, and executive profiles.

Select International Businesses from the drop-down menu or on the column on the left to begin a search.
MRI|Simmons Insights
Good for: Marketing data and tools for targeting consumers, developing marketing strategies, and analyzing campaign performance.
Contains: Demographics, psychographics, media data, and other reports.

For additional information on how to use the database click on the "Resources" tab at the top of the page. To locate the data that used to be called MRI University, please go to the Catalyst menu at the top and select Brand Catalyst. The Reporter icon will be in the left column.

Simmons One View Tutorial, Michigan State University
Step-by-step guide to using the Simmons One View database from MSU.
American Customer Service Index (ACSI)
ACSI measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets.Click on the Industries tab retail, travel, manufacturing, etc.

Mintel Market Research Database
Key code for 2019:
T7E2T3MH

NOTE: Registered users must register each year with the code for that year. To register go to: https://www.gfkmrismartsystem.com

At the login screen click on “Register” Fill out the form - KeyCode, Full Name, and UNLV email

A link will be sent to your UNLV email account Click the link within three days to complete registration

To logon and use the database go to: https://www.gfkmrismartsystem.com (the same link as registration)
Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.

Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. All users who register and create a profile must use their university email address.

Market Statistics

Sage Data
Good for: N/A (Content has been migrated to DataPlanet.)
Statista
Type keywords (such as juices, cranberries) in the search box for market share statistics, advertising spending, worldwide net sales, etc.

Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.