LibGuides: Interdisciplinary Inquiry (Bock): Home

Subject Guide

Contact:

brittani.sterling@unlv.edu

Subjects: Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Political Science, Sociology

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian!
There are many ways to get in contact with someone at the library if you need help. Don't hesitate to ask.

How to Connect from Off-Campus

Locate Items

Library Tutorials

Library Tutorials
UNLV Libraries Tutorials

Finding Journal Articles

The first place to look for journal articles is Academic Search Premier. ASP is the largest database and contains both scholarly and popular material from many disciplines.

Research Tips - you can search ASP with other Ebsco databases at the same time.

Open ASP, above the search box, there is link in blue that says "choose databases"
Click "choose databases" and see a list of all other Ebsco databases
Select other databases and hit Ok
This allows you to search ASP with Film and Television or PsyInfo or SportsDiscus
End result is the ability to find more sources for your topic without duplications

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines. [less-]
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Criminology and Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles focused on criminal justice, juvenile delinquency and justice, family & domestic violence and more. [less-]
This criminology collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.
This criminology collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.

Business and Industry and Hospitality

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This global business information database contains current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information and executive profiles.
It is updated monthly. Select International Businesses from the drop-down menu or on the column on the left to begin a search.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Industry market research information, company reports and economic reports.
Scope: International
Industry market research reports covering over 700 industries written at the 5-digit NAICS level which provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors and industry outlook. Now available, over 100 China industry reports (manufacturing, accommodation and food service, education, conventions, real estate, transportation, etc.). Please click on the "China Site" link above the list of U.S. Industry reports to access the site.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.

Sports and Recreation Databases

Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry.
SBRNet is a service focusing on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. The site features market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals

Psychology and Sociology

APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to DSM-V-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry plus other references for diagnosis, treatment, research, professional development, and lifelong learning.
The DSM-V is a standard resource for diagnosis in Psychology.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Sociology: A Sage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
This collection includes the full text of 28 journals, some going back 20 years, covering over 10,000 articles. This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.

Communications

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Communication and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 16 communications journals published by Sage.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.

Environmental Science

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage about the impact of humans on the environment from government, general and scholarly publications can be found in this resource.
It contains over 300,000 records and over 200 cited references from the agriculture, education, law, health and technology fields.
Building Green This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, reviews, product information and news on sustainable building.
This resource integrates product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and the Environmental Building News.
Greenwire, Environment and Energy Daily, and Climatewire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental current events information
An environmental current events database comprised of three pieces: Greenwire, a daily news service reporting on the latest environmental and energy action; Environment and Energy Daily, published every day Congress is in session, tracking environmental and energy issues in Congress; and Land Letter, a weekly in-depth look at regulation, litigation and legislation surrounding natural resources issues. Also included is an archive of key environmental policy documents, and detailed special reports.

Art and English

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Possible to limit searches to full text items only or peer-reviewed items only. Works of art found reproduced in periodicals are also indexed. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage of selected articles begins in 1997.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Databases for all other subjects - History, Biology, etc.

All Library Databases
The library has over 300 databases for different subjects

Search For Books and More

Use the Libraries' Quick Search

to locate books, videos and other materials owned by the University Libraries.

Locate this on the top of the library home page or here.

Another way to find books & everything else - Quick Search

Quick Search will look for books, journal and magazine and newspaper articles and even materials from Special Collections. Searches will return many hits, sometimes too many.

A few tips for using Quick Search

Use the "Refine your search" tabs on the left hand side of the page
These tabs will allow you to limit by books, journal articles or to exclude newspaper articles
You can also limit to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles
Also, notice in the results list, each entry has two small icons in the right hand corner
The icon with a box and a plus sign allows you to format and email the citiation

Quick Search
Quick Search looks for books, journal articles and other material. You will get lots of results. Limit your searches by using "limit by" on the left hand side of the page - journal articles, peer-reviewed, omit newspapers, books, etc.

Citing Your Sources and Creating a Bibliography

APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources
Official guide from APA. This guide is a revised and updated version of section 4.16 of the fifth edition of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
Access restricted to UNLV students, faculty and staff.
zbib.org
Quickly finds and formats citations - no login required.
RefWorks

Style guides for bibliographies (APA, MLA, Chicago...) This link opens in a new window
Group of online style guides with models of how to create citations in major bibliographic styles.

Research tips

Professors often ask students to use scholarly sources, but what exactly does that mean? This handout lists criteria to help you decide if a source is popular or scholarly

Evaluating Information - is it popular or scholarly?
Helpful handout to evaluate your sources
Handout for Annotated Bibliography

Special Collections

Special Collections has many interesting, rare and specialized documents pertaining to Las Vegas history, gaming and UNLV.

Special Collections
Look for primary documents about gaming and Las Vegas history

Interdisciplinary Inquiry (Bock): Home