LibGuides: HMD 310 Hospitality Operations and Employment Law: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Please use the databases in the column on the right to locate articles related to the law for the hospitality industry.

Don’t Let Database Searching Stress You Out! Written by: Brittany Geissinger and Linda Salem San Diego State University Libraries

Article Link

Law Databases

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window 1960- Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
Gambling Compliance Online This link opens in a new window The GamblingCompliance database contains detailed access to gaming news, analysis, regulatory research, data forecasts and more. UNLV students and staff should schedule an appointment with Lateka Grays (http://bit.ly/hosplibcal) to access content for your research.
It covers more than 150 global jurisdictions and 40 U.S. states, mapping key industry topics such as taxation, online and land-based licensing, and player protection requirements, etc., including the ability to create custom reports from the data.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window 1923- Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window 1960- Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Criminology and Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window 1950- Journal articles focused on criminal justice, juvenile delinquency and justice, family & domestic violence and more.
This criminology collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window Includes over 200 full text journals consisting of the Emerald Management 175 Collection and the Emerald Engineering Collection .
Subjects covered are management, marketing, human resources, production & economics, operations, library & information services, information management, training & education, and engineering.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.

Newspaper Databases

Factiva This link opens in a new window 1950s - present Access is limited to 6 simultaneous users. Continuously updated news and business information from major news sources.
This database combines over 30,000 sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window 1996- Full text of articles, not including images.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
ProQuest National Newspapers This database has changed its name. Please see US Newsstream.

HMD 310 Hospitality Operations and Employment Law: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Article Databases

Don’t Let Database Searching Stress You Out! Written by: Brittany Geissinger and Linda Salem San Diego State University Libraries

Law Databases

Newspaper Databases

Locations

Contact