LibGuides: HMD 225 Foundations of Hospitality Leadership: Locating Articles

Locating Peer Reviewed Articles

Locating Peer-Reviewed Articles Through the UNLV Libraries

You have been asked to use peer-reviewed articles for your written assignment in this course.

Select a database from the list on the left. These resources contain peer-reviewed content related to the topics discussed in HMD 307.

**Please note that you will need to follow the steps in the description for Google Scholar to connect directly to content from the UNLV Libraries. This will avoid pages requesting payments for articles.**

It is important that you use the filtering features in each database to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles. The filters can be located on the side or the top of the result lists.

If you experience difficulty locating articles, you can email me at lateka.grays@unlv.edu or visit my office hours on Thursdays beginning at 8 am in room 251 in Hospitality Hall.

Thank you,

Lateka Grays, Hospitality Librarian

Database Search Tips

NAU - Graduate Resources
Boolean and Search Strategies
Boolean Operators: A Cheat Sheet

Sources for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window 1960- Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
- This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window 1923- Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.