LibGuides: ENGL 731 Poetry of Abolition: Library Guides

Databases: Primary Source Collections, 1550-1800

Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1701-1800
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
The Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1550-1850
Firsthand travel accounts of British tourists visiting Europe.
Literary Manuscripts: the Brotherton Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1660-1830
Manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770-present
Plays written by women in the United States and Canada.
Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. Plays are also included in North American Theatre Online.
Perdita Manuscripts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1600s
Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary manuscripts, art, letters, diaries, maps and more from Romantic writers including Wordsworth, Coleridge, DeQuincey and more.
Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.

Plays

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
New Oxford Shakespeare Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A new edition of Shakespeare's plays with both modern spelling editions for reading or performing and a critical reference edition with original spelling for literary research.
The authorship companion provides essays about methods and case studies illustrating Shakespeare's collaborations with other authors.

Production details

Performance Design Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos about design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1997-2016
Material from the performance and architectural archives of the modern reconstruction of Shakespeare’s 1599 Globe Theatre.
The performance archive shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved and the theatre history and performance lessons that were observed and learned. The architectural archive contains material on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions. In addition, there is also material on the theatre’s annual reports, communications to its supporters and oral histories detailing some of the early history of the reconstructed theatre.
Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library for performances of Shakespeare's plays between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Includes digital reproductions of the Folger Library's prompt book collection, predominantly from British and American performances from the late 17th century to 1970. Also includes supporting materials (ephemera, photographs, correspondence, etc.) for 17 selected plays.

Henslowe-Alleyn Digitisation project
Manuscripts of actor Edward Alleyn (1566-1626). This archive includes his personal and professional papers and those he inherited from his father-in-law Philip Henslowe (d. 1616).
Early Modern London Theatres
Database of theatre records from REED - see review at http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/review/1119

Bibliography & reference

JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare
Pick a play. Click a line. Instantly see articles on JSTOR that reference the line.

Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Annotated citations of scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
Books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, information about theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, and electronic media

Streaming video

Ambrose Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos, including the BBC Shakespeare collections and A History of American Indian Achievement.
All of these videos are closed captioned and can be viewed full screen.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of theatre productions and documentaries about performance.
Theatre in Video presents online streaming video of complete professional performances of more than 250 well-known plays, together with more than 500 video documentaries. View and bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples.

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1900.
Searchable collection of women's letters and diaries.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770-1950
Diaries, journals, and letters written by famous and not-so-famous North American women.

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I-V (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1684-1912
Popular magazines, newspapers, and journals published in the United States.
EBSCO version offers subject indexing. Also searchable via Gale or Gale Primary Sources combined search portal.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-present
Publications documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States - history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
British Periodicals Collection I and II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1681-1920
Popular British periodicals mostly from the 19th century.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1685-1835
Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical magazines and newspapers from Britain, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean.

Looking for a particular magazine? Search for the title in the A-Z list to see if it is available in any database.

A-Z list of journals
Find out if UNLV subscribes to a specific journal or search within the contents of any single journal.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1420-1920
Primary sources like manuscripts, maps and illustrated documents, diaries and ship logs recording the experiences of Europeans as they explored trade routes, colonized the Americas and Australasia, and raced to the North and South Poles.
Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all American history archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Combined search of American History, American Indian Histories and Cultures, American West, Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, and Virginia Company Archives.
American History (Gilder Lehrman collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1945
Primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman collection about American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
China Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-1980
Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals offer evidence of Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years
Combined search of: China, America and the Pacific, China: Culture and Society, and China: Trade, Politics and Culture.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1606-1822
British government documents from the CO 5 series about administering the American colonies.
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1624-1832
Colonial Office files from the National Archive U.K. about British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean from 1624-1872 trace the rise and decline of trade in enslaved peoples, from transportation through trade and shipping to the rise of the abolition movement.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1599-1947
British government records from the India Office chart the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-present
Primary source materials that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
The Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1550-1850
Firsthand travel accounts of British tourists visiting Europe.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1615-1947
Documents recording the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1654-1954
Organizational and personal archival collections including rare printed books and pamphlets from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1940
Treaties and correspondence between the US government and American Indian tribes; also photos, census rolls, Dawes packets and enrollment cards.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1490-2007
Case studies documenting slavery in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba, along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Victorian Popular Culture, 1779 to 1930 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1779 to 1930
Primary source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930. Has books, posters, scrapbooks and optical toys.
Virginia Company Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1590-1790
Archival collection of the Ferrar Papers, 1590-1790, revealing details about the Atlantic world and early Colonial period.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-2000
Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies which document reform activities by and affecting women.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1950
National and regional British newspapers representing different political and cultural views.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1789-1924
Newspapers from the Library of Congress, including Nevada newspapers.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1603-1800
Newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and newsbooks from the British Library.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1672-1737
British newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets from the Bodleian Library.
South Carolina Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1775, 1777-1780
The South Carolina Gazette published news and details of life and trade in America during the years prior to independence.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1785-2019
The Times (London) newspaper.

United States Online Historic Newspapers
List of digitized historical newspaper collections, including many that are free.

search tips

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1923
PDFs of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America, including most books published between 1639-1819.
Combined search for American Broadsides and Ephemera, American Pamphlets, and Early American Imprints 1 (Shaw) and 2 (Evans).
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.
American Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1820-1922
Pamphlets with advice and opinions about all kinds of 19th century controversies.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1800
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America before 1800.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1801-1819
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America between 1801 and 1819.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1700
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
EEBO/Evans/ECCO Text Creation Partnership combination search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1800
Simultaneous search of selected books published between 1475-1800 in England and America.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1701-1800
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1543-1945
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.
Making of Modern Law (MOML): Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
The Gale Primary Sources interface allows cross-searching of five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1926
Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean) from 1492 to the mid-1800s.
Primary sources that offer original accounts of exploration, settlement, military actions, Native Americans, westward expansion, European relations with Latin America and more. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Digitized photos and art images.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

Secondary Sources

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1926-
Literary criticism published in journal articles, book chapters, books and more. Video tutorial for MLAIB
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism in articles and overviews. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, Something About the Author, and Twayne's Authors.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Poetry, drama and prose; also literature criticism journals, ebooks, and key reference resources.

Encyclopedias & Guides

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Substantial biographical overviews of literary authors.
Reliable information on authors and their works, placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H. C. G. Matthew (Editor); Brian Harrison (Editor)
Call Number: UNLV Reference, 1st Floor DA28 .O95 2004
ISBN: 019861411X
Publication Date: 2004

Literature Reviews - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research reviews on major authors, literary movements, and critical approaches.

YWES Year's Work in English Studies
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes annual analytic overviews of new literary criticism organized by genre and time period.
Literary Research Guide
An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
James L. Harner

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 570-1338

Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theater Arts, World Languages and Cultures

ENGL 731 Poetry of Abolition: Library Guides

Databases: Primary Source Collections, 1550-1800

Secondary Sources

Encyclopedias & Guides

humanities librarian

Locations

Contact