LibGuides: EDW 750-1001: Meta-Analysis Research and Procedures (Oh-Young): Library Guides

RefWorks--Info & Help

RefWorks
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

RefWorks Instructions

FAQs about APA

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan department is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.

Set Up an Iliad Account for Interlibrary Loan
Click on the First Time Users Click Here tab to set up an account

UNLV Libraries Research Databases

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text journal articles in education published after 1996. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Education Full Text indexes, abstracts and supplies the full text of articles from education-related English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1996 or later are also indexed. Abstracts are available for items published 1994-1996. Subjects include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
Searches for books and e-books, journal articles, videos, newspaper articles and more in UNLV's databases and collections.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery services are displayed.

Click on the UNLV Find Text link to see if the library subscribes to the publication.

Truncating & Using Wildcards when Searching Databases

If you want to narrow or broaden your search, you may want to find out if truncation and proximity operators are available in the database you are using. Look in the help screens to find out about these useful operators.

Resource Guide: Truncation and Proximity Operators
Colorado State University has created a great guide that walks you through the various truncation/proximity operators & wildcards that can help you when searching databases.

Locating a Journal Article with a Citation

Let's say you discover a great article through an author's bibliography. How do you find out if UNLV has access to it? Below are the steps to locate a journal article with a citation.

Citation example:
McConachie, H., & Diggle, T. (2007). Parent implemented early intervention for young children with autism spectrum disorder: A systematic review. Journal of evaluation in clinical practice, 13(1), 120-129.

Go to the A to Z List of Journals link & type in the journal title. You will then be directed to which databases will have access to the journal:

Full text available at: Wiley Online Library Backfile Complete
Available from 1995 volume: 1 issue: 1 until 1996 volume: 2 issue: 4.

Full text available at: Wiley Online Library Database Model 2018
Available from 1997 volume: 3 issue: 1.
Full text available at: EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
Available from 1998.
Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Baldrige Framework

Is there an organization type that you want to focus on (such as hospitals, educational institutions, etc.)?

Do you want to focus only in the US?

Keyword search strategies:
--"Baldrige Framework" and... (add other words/organizations to narrow your search)

Relationship between Race/SES with Performance on Assessments

What grades/age groups would you like to focus on (elementary, K-12, preschool, secondary)?

Keyword search strategies:

--race and socioeconomic status and "standardized tests"

--race and socioeconomic status and assessment tests

--"performance on assessments" and SES and race

Media Literacy and Preservice Teachers

Keyword search strategies:
--"pre-service teachers" and "media literacy" (You can narrow it further by population, culture, region, etc.)

Peer Implemented Communication Intervention for Preschool Children with Autism

Keyword search strategies:
--peer-implemented communication and intervention and preschool and autism

--peer-implemented communication and preschool and autism

EDW 750-1001: Meta-Analysis Research and Procedures (Oh-Young): Library Guides