LibGuides: CRJ450: Seminar in Criminal Justice (Slemaker): Library Guides

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch
Searches for books and e-books, journal articles, videos, newspaper articles and more in UNLV's databases and collections.

UNLV Libraries Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
You can search for multiple EBSCO databases at one time. For this assignment, you might want to search: Criminal Justice Abstracts, Academic Search Premier, APA PsycArticles, APA PsycInfo, and SocINDEX with Fulltext,
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1960-
Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.

Google Scholar

Searching for Government Information

You may find some interesting government reports, studies and statistics focusing on issues related to the mentally ill and prisons (and other issues related to the book).

After you type in your keywords, add site:.gov to your search

Example:
"mentally ill" and prisons site:.gov

APA Style Resources

APA 7th Overview Handout
Samantha's handout covering the basics of APA style - 7th Edition.
APA Overview
Samantha's PPT (updated for 7th Edition), including potentially tricky examples such as book chapters and secondary citations.

APA 7th Edition Quick Reference Guide
From APA, color-coded explanation of journal, book, and book chapter references (pdf).
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Style Guide
This is a dependable site for APA questions. Look for the APA Formatting Guide and Sample Papers in the menu on the left.

Other Resources:

Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from APA
Free DOI Lookup Tool
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
"Should I Cite This?" (Purdue OWL)
Flowchart to help with decisions around whether or not a citation is necessary.

CRJ450: Seminar in Criminal Justice (Slemaker): Library Guides

CRJ450 Library Workshop Slides

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

UNLV Libraries Databases

Google Scholar

Searching for Government Information

APA Style Resources

Locations

Contact