COM 425: Rhetoric and Public Memory (VanderHaagen)

Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.

Contains: Journal articles. 

Dates covered: 1900-current date

Good for: Researching communication and media studies. 

Contains: Full text of 16 communication studies journals. 

Dates covered: 1950-current date.

Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.

Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Good for: Researching communication studies. 

Contains: Abstracts of articles published in communication studies literature. 

Dates covered: 1915-present.

Good for: Searching scholarship about the history of the United States and Canada.

Contains: Citations to journal articles and books by historians and social scientists.

Dates covered: 1955 - current.

Good for: Exploring U.S. history at an introductory level.

Contains: Primary documents, encyclopedia entries, and journal articles.

Dates covered: 1760-present.

Good for: Studying women's reform activities.

Contains: Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.

Dates covered: 1600-2000.

Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics. 

Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

Good for: Searching American magazines and journals published mostly before 1900.

Contains: Magazines and journals.

Dates covered: 1740-1940.

Good for: Studying popular culture in the US and Britain through music and alternative publications. 

Contains: Primary sources. 

Dates covered: 1950-1975.

Good for: Searching American magazines and journals published mostly before 1900.

Contains: Magazines and journals.

Dates covered: 1740-1940.

Good for: Reading firsthand accounts of 19th-century American society, history and culture.

Contains: PDF images and scanned text of articles from the popular magazine.

Dates covered: 1830-1898.

Good for: Finding articles in popular magazines published before 1983. 

Contains: Index to articles. 

Dates covered: 1890-1982.

Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics. 

Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

Good for: Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1929) book owned and scanned by a library.

Contains: Digitized books.

Good for: Searching 19th-century African American newspapers.

Contains: African-American newspapers.

Dates covered: 1827-1902.

Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.

Contains: Historical newspapers.

Dates covered: 1690-1923.

Good for: Researching historical events through American newspapers, including Nevada newspapers.

Contains: Historical newspapers. 

Dates covered: 1789-1963.

Good for: Reading newspaper reports of major events of the U.S. Civil War. 

Contains: Clippings from Union and Confederate sources. 

Dates covered: 1860-1865.

Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts. 

Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.

Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.

Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.

Dates covered: 1980s-present.

Good for: Finding articles from American newspapers of the 19th century. 

Contains: Newspapers. 

Dates covered: 1800-1900.

Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.

Contains: Art digital images and related data.

Good for: Researching art.

Contains: Art encyclopedia.

Good for: Researching art publications.

Contains: Index with selected full text.

Dates covered: 1997-present.

Good for: Finding citations on art, architecture, and related fields.

Contains: Citations to articles and books.

Dates covered: 1929-1984.

Good for: Finding images from the National Gallery of Art. 

Contains: Images.

Good for: Exploring printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems, and other ephemeral items from the past.

Contains: Printed ephemera.

Dates covered: 1749-1900.

Good for: Researching architecture articles.

Contains: Index of architecture articles.