Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM 400:: Human Communication Theory

This guide provides resources to assist you in finding sources for your upcoming research paper.

Getting Started With Your Research

This guide is designed to assist you with your upcoming research paper. We will go over how to find scholarly materials, including books, scholarly journal articles using UNLV Libraries databases, in addition to Google Scholar.

Searching for a Specific Journal

You can search for articles within specific Communication Studies using the UNLV Library website or via Google Scholar. Check out the instructions on the PowerPoint for details!

UNLV Libraries Databases & Keyword Search Examples

Below are some UNLV Libraries Databases that will be useful for you when searching for scholarly articles. In addition to the three main Communication Studies-specific databases, we have included some interdisciplinary databases that may be useful during your search.

Here are keyword some examples:

  • social penetration theory
  • symbolic convergence theory and criticism
  • uncertainty reduction theory and support

**Please note: If you choose Communication & Mass Media Complete, you may consider clicking on the "Choose Databases" link and add Academic Search Premier, PsycArticles, and other databases simultaneously.**

Check Out the Library QuickSearch Box

http://www.library.unlv.edu/

Quick Search is an innovative Google-like research discovery engine that provides instant search access to a high proportion of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic books, the locations of relevant print books, and much more. Users type keywords into a single search box to begin finding resources.

**On the right hand side, go to "Refine My Results" to limit by publication type (such as scholarly/peer reviewed article), by time period, etc.)

What About Google Scholar?

What is Google Scholar?  
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view interlibrary loan are displayed.

 

Using RefWorks

refworks logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

  • Organize your research
  • Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
  • Import references from many data sources
  • Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
  • Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
  • Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

Login to RefWorks or Create an account

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian's picture
Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian
Contact:
UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu
702-895-2141
© University of Nevada Las Vegas