LibGuides: COM 322: Public Policy Advocacy (Thompson): Library Guides

E-books

Writing Editorials

How to Write an Op-Ed Column (Harvard Kennedy School)
Provides detailed guidelines on how to write an op-ed column.
The Op-Ed Project
Resource for anyone looking to strengthen their op-ed writing. It provides tips on op-ed writing, suggestions about basic op-ed structure, guidelines on how to pitch op-ed pieces to publications, and information about top outlets that publish op-eds.
How to Write Op-Ed Columns
Prepared by The Earth Institute at Columbia University, this is a guide to writing op-eds and contains a useful list of op-ed guidelines for top-circulation US newspapers.

Policy-Related Resources & Databases

Brookings Mountain West
Brookings Institution
UNLV Libraries Quick Search
Google-like research discovery engine that provides instant search access to a high proportion of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, etc.

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Las Vegas Sun

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
RAND Reports This link opens in a new window
Think tank reports and documents on social and political issues.
Searches the RAND archive of over 17,000 titles dating back to 1948. RAND publications deal with such issues as national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies.

Policy-Related Web Resources

Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS)
Information about the Nevada legislative current session as well as past sessions, search for your representatives, and more.
PolicyArchive
PolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 17,000 documents, from about 500 organizations.
Stateline
Stateline is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news service of the Pew Center on the States. Since 1999, it has reported and analyzed trends in state policy.
Pew Research Center: U.S. Politics & Policy
Includes research reports, surveys, data, and more focusing on US politics & policy.
U.S. State Policy | The Pew Charitable Trusts
Resources on US state policy, fiscal & economic policy, etc.

White Paper Resources

Citing Your Sources-APA Style

Citing Your Sources Using Refworks

RefWorks
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

RefWorks Instructions

Proquest RefWorks guide
New RefWorks tutorials (YouTube)
New RefWorks FAQ
RefWorks Citation Manager (For use with Office 2016)
Write N Cite for Windows
Using Write N Cite with Microsoft Word

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

COM 322: Public Policy Advocacy (Thompson): Library Guides