LibGuides: COM 312: Nonverbal Communication (Cunningham)

E-books on Nonverbal Communication

UNLV Libraries Databases & Keyword Search Examples

Below are some UNLV Libraries Databases that will be useful for you when searching for scholarly articles. In addition to the three main Communication Studies-specific databases, we have included some interdisciplinary databases that may be useful during your search.

Here are keyword some examples:

facial expression AND nonverbal communication
haptics OR touching AND nonverbal communication
eye contact AND attraction AND nonverbal communication

**Please note: If you choose Communication & Mass Media Complete, you may consider clicking on: Searching: Communication & Mass Media Complete to add other databases, such as: Academic Search Premier, APAPsycArticles, APAPsycInfo,and other databases to search simultaneously.**

**See Google Slides for more details.

COM 312 Slides: Researching Nonverbal Communication

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date

Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Communication and Media Studies
Good for: Researching communication and media studies.
Contains: Full text of 16 communication studies journals.
Dates covered: 1950-current date.

This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
ComAbstracts
Good for: Researching communication studies.
Contains: Abstracts of articles published in communication studies literature.
Dates covered: 1915-present.
Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
APA PsycARTICLES
Good for: Accessing full-text articles from the 50 journals published by APA.
Contains: Articles from peer-reviewed journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
JSTOR
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more. Also includes ARTSTOR collections from museums and collections of historical primary sources from libraries and cultural heritage organizations.

Check Out the Library QuickSearch Box

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch
Quick Search is an innovative Google-like research discovery engine that provides instant search access to a high proportion of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic books, the locations of relevant print books, and much more. Users type keywords into a single search box to begin finding resources.

**On the right hand side, go to "Refine My Results" to limit by publication type (such as scholarly/peer reviewed article), by time period, etc.)

QuickSearch Resource Guide

What About Google Scholar?

What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view interlibrary loan are displayed.

Google Scholar Setup Tipsheet

Examples of a Few Scholarly Articles

Nonverbal Communication & Cultures

Nonverbal Communication/Culture Videos

Using RefWorks

refworks logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet