LibGuides: COM 302: Issues in IPC (Relational Communication) (Farrell): Welcome

Citing Your Sources Using APA Style

APA 7th Overview Handout
Handout covering the basics of APA style - 7th Edition.
APA Overview
PPT (updated for 7th Edition), including potentially tricky examples such as book chapters and secondary citations.

APA 6th/7th Comparison Chart: Side by side comparison of the two editions, created by a librarian at East Carolina University.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Style Guide
This is a dependable site for APA questions. Look for their Sample Paper, too.

Other Resources:

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from APA
Free DOI Lookup Tool
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Is it Plagiarism Yet? (Purdue OWL)
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.

RefWorks
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Learn more on the RefWorks Basics page.

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

RefWorks Instructions