LibGuides: BIPOC Voices in Research and Scholarship: Library Guides

UNLV Libraries Resource Guides & Databases

Access U.S. News: Ethnic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2005-
Newspapers serving religious, ethnic and cultural groups in the US.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1827-1902
African-American newspapers including The Colored American, all of Frederick Douglass’ newspapers, The Freedmen’s Record, and more.
African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Novels, plays, poetry, traditional African folk materials and non-fictional accounts of African culture and history.
African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of Black American musical expression.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940-present
Primary sources from more than 35 countries related to LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
American Indians and the American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1809-1971
Primary source collections from the US National Archives and other sources, including 20th century Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
See research guide describing full contents.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-present
Publications documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States - history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and historical sources for Black Studies.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-present
Primary source documents, archival collections, films, and ephemera describing events and lives of displaced people, refugees, undocumented and unauthorized migrants and victims of human trafficking at significant border areas from the 19th to 21st centuries.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1200 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Features both primary and secondary sources related to disability studies, including videos, diaries, brochures, advertisements, and more.
Areas of coverage include: education, and accessibility, advocacy and rights, legislation and politics, media studies, arts, sports and culture, race, class, sexuality, and gender and war industry, and technology
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1872-
Novels, short stories and poems, and plays written by Americans of Spanish or Latin American heritage.
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It currently contains over 106,000 pages of poetry.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-
Memoirs, letters, and essays by Latin American women.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1960
Primary sources related to Hispanic-American writers and activists in the 19th and 20th centuries.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day, including published texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera from several archives.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs/books.
North American Immigrant Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1840-
Personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories about immigrating to the U.S. or Canada.

Represent: UNLV Community Selected Collection Pilot
The Represent pilot was launched in April 2023 and content suggestions were collected throughout April from the UNLV Community. The goal of the Represent program is to add content to the Libraries’ collections, selected by the students, staff and faculty of UNLV, that reflects the diversity of UNLV and represents the cultures, histories and lived experiences of the UNLV Community.
"We Need To Talk": Resource Guide
Companion guide to the panel series, We Need To Talk, sponsored by the University Libraries and Greenspun College of Urban Affairs with livestreaming by UNLV TV. This guide includes specific resources to the various topics covered in the series.

Open Access Resources

DOAJ
"DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone."
Editors of Color: Diverse Databases
"Editors of Color is a comprehensive resource to address the representational bias in publishing, communications, and the media. Our goal is to connect talented editors, proofreaders, and sensitivity readers with employers and recruiters seeking to diversify their teams and broaden their perspectives."
Independent Voices-JSTOR
"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."
Internet Archive
Library of Congress Digital Collections

Other Libraries Resource Guides Focusing on BIPOC Researchers & Scholars

BIPOC Art & Architecture (University of Minnesota)
"This guide lists resources with a focus on BIPOC art history including databases, professional associations, museums/archives, and images and other reference sources."
Finding BIPOC voices in STEM (University of Illinois)
STEM fields have historically under-represented BIPOC perspectives. This resource guide includes some excellent resources in a variety of STEM fields.
Finding Diverse Voices in Academic Research (George Mason University)
This guide focuses on "strategies and resources on searching for and highlighting diverse voices in scholarship."

BIPOC Voices in Research and Scholarship: Library Guides

UNLV Libraries Resource Guides & Databases

Open Access Resources

Other Libraries Resource Guides Focusing on BIPOC Researchers & Scholars

Locations

Contact