Good for: Finding newspaper articles in Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009); also includes selected 20th century newspapers from St. George, UT, and Tulare County and Salinas, CA.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1876-2010.
newspapers on other platforms
These collections can be searched using the same principles but the search forms will look different.
Good for: Finding national periodicals, local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1828-2016.
Good for: News and commentary by and for Hispanic American communities in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1808-1980.
Good for: Searching for articles in the San Francisco Chronicle newspaper.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: Page images for 1865-1984; article text only for 1985-present.
Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1690-1923.
Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context.
Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Dates covered: 1887-2005.
Good for: Exploring British and American fiction, current affairs, arts, fashion, and culture.
Contains: Magazines.
Dates covered: 1920-1930.
Good for: Searching American magazines and journals published mostly before 1900.
Contains: Magazines and journals.
Dates covered: 1740-1940.
Good for: Studying personal experiences, propaganda, visual perspectives, and narratives of the First World War.
Contains: Archival collections, films, and oral histories.
Dates covered: 1900-1950.
Good for: Studying historical medical advances during warfare.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1850s-1930s.
Good for: Exploring the lives and experiences of North American women.
Contains: Diaries, journals, and letters.
Dates covered: 1770-1950.
Good for: Exploring the industry around 19th-century American commercial health products.
Contains: Advertising pamphlets, trade cards, posters, and promotional work.
Dates covered: 1800-1900.
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.
Good for: Exploring world events, British politics, and human interest stories through newsreel films.
Contains: Newsreel films.
Dates covered: 1911-1930.
