About this Page - Using Secondary Data in Your Research
Secondary data is data you did not collect yourself. For particular topics and research questions, it may be more suitable to analyze data collected by others rather than collect your own. Watch this 3 minute video, or read the transcript, of an interview containing information about secondary data - what it is, and why and when to use it.
Please Note: As of 7/19, data.census.gov will be the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. All new data will be released on this new data platform. Create tables or maps and download data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, or American Community Survey.
"Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it."
dataZoa allows you to access and monitor over 3 billion dynamic data series from public sites and other dataZoa publishers. You can get data on economics, demographics, energy, finance, health and more from sites such as the U.S. Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Yahoo Finance, the National Center for Education Statistics, and more.
To use dataZoa you must create a personal account from a UNLV e-mail address to begin.
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.
Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard reference resource for data on all aspects of American history. This resources contains five sections: 1)Population 2)Work and Welfare 3)Economic Structure 4)Economic Sectors and 5)Governance and International Relations
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an organization of member institutions working together to: acquire and preserve social science data; provide open and equitable access to these data; and promote effective data management.
MyReseacher is an innovative and powerful data-tracking and information reporting web application created by Applied Analysis. MyReseacher allows users to search millions of economic, fiscal, social and environmental metrics, tracking and trending the ones that matter most to them. MyResearcher has Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States.
Users will be required to create an account with their UNLV email address.
Vizala is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
SAGE Business Stats
This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
SAGE Local & State Stats
This link opens in a new window
SAGE Local & State Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
SAGE U.S. Political Stats
This link opens in a new window
U.S. Political Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information.
The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. It creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place. Included are over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies. Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account.The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).
This link opens in a new window