LibGuides: Sociology: Finding Books

About this Page

On this page you can search the catalog for Sociology books or view some electronic reference materials in Sociology. This page also has the call number ranges for all areas of Subclass HM - Sociology - from the Library of Congress classification system.

Library of Congress classification system

In case you'd like to browse the shelves (or the catalog), here are the call number ranges for subclass HM, Sociology. Remember that this does not encompass everything in sociology - other Classes or Subclasses within Class H (or even outside of class H, in other subject areas that overlap with Sociology) may have materials relevant to your topic as well.

Subclass HM

HM(1)-1281 Sociology

(HM1-299) These are obsolete numbers no longer used by the Library of Congress

HM435-477 History of sociology. History of sociological theory

HM461-473 Schools of sociology. Schools of social thought

HM481-554 Theory. Method. Relations to other subjects

HM621-656 Culture

HM661-696 Social control

HM701 Social systems

HM706 Social structure

HM711-806 Groups and organizations

HM756-781 Community

HM786-806 Organizational sociology. Organization theory

HM811-821 Deviant behavior. Social deviance HM826 Social institutions

HM831-901 Social change

HM1001-1281 Social psychology

HM1041-1101 Social perception. Social cognition Including perception of the self and others, prejudices, stereotype

HM1106-1171 Interpersonal relations. Social behavior

HM1176-1281 Social influence. Social pressure

Library of Congress Classification - Class H
Here are the call number ranges for all areas within the Social Sciences.

Library of Congress Classification Outline
There may be other disciplines that are relevant to your topic, that overlap with Sociology. See a list of disciplines according to the Library of Congress Classification system at this site.

e-Reference books

Sociology dictionaries from Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Terms and definitions from sociology.
Search the full text of the Collins Dictionary of Sociology, the Penguin Dictionary of Sociology, The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology, the U.S. Census 2000 State & County Statistical QuickFacts and World of Sociology.
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia entries about American Indians and immigrant groups in the U.S.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Internet Access
ISBN: 9780521540469
Publication Date: 2006-08-14
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism. Most entries incorporate references for further reading and a cross-referencing system enables easy access to related areas. This Dictionary is an invaluable reference work for students and academics alike and will help to define the field of sociology in years to come.
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by Wesley G. Jennings
ISBN: 9781118519639
Publication Date: December 2015
Provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by George Ritzer (Editor)
Call Number: Internet Access
ISBN: 0761926119
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Led by internationally renowned scholar George Ritzer, the Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of more than 200 international scholars covering the developments, achievements, and prospects of social theory from its inception in the 18th century to the present. Understanding that social theory can both explain and alter the social world, this two-volume set serves as not only a foundation for learning, but also an inspiration for creative and reflexive engagement with the rich range of ideas it contains.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780080970875
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading

Sociology

About this Page

Library of Congress classification system

e-Reference books

Locations

Contact