LibGuides: JOUR 100: Introduction to Journalism & Media Studies

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Recommended Resources to Find Books

UNLV Library Catalog

Ebook Central
Good for: Academic books in all subject areas.
Contains: eBooks, reports, and other resources

A free account is required to download books for offline reading or to save highlighted passages and personal notes.
EBSCO eBook Collection
Good for: eBooks on a wide range of subjects
Contains: Books and reports

Browse e-books for quick research and reference or create a free account to check out items, create notes, and list favorites.

Professional Journalism Associations & Organizations

(add text)

American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA)




ASJA is the nation’s leading organization of independent nonfiction writers. The site contains resources for writers, links to the association’s newsletter, free resources, and updates about the association’s events and conferences.
American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE)




The ASNE is a membership organization for daily newspaper editors. The website provides resources about the First Amendment, information about the society’s upcoming events, and information on a variety of topics including credibility, diversity, and ca
Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)




AEJMC is a non-profit, educational association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students, and media professionals. The site provides links to meetings and conference information, publications, and jobs.
Institute for Public Relations




The Institute for Public Relations is “focused on the science beneath the art of public relations.” The organization’s website provides links to research and education for practitioners, researchers, and educators.
Investigative Reporter and Editors (IRE)




The IRE, located in the Missouri School of Journalism, provides educational services to editors, reporters, and others interested in investigative journalism. The site offers information on training opportunities, links to an extensive resource center, a
National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)




NAB is a full-service trade association that represents the interests of free, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters. The site includes a wide variety of information about the association and its events, in addition to resource and research links
Newspaper Association of America (NAA)




NAA is a nonprofit organization representing the $55 billion newspaper industry. The site features information on research, publications, readership, circulation, and several other topics.
Poynter Institute of Media Studies




The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and journalism teachers. The site offers resources and educational opportunities for reporters, broadcasters, and photojournalists.
Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)




The PRSA website provides links to professional development, publications, employment opportunities, networking groups, and membership and chapter information.
Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)




The PRSSA website provides links to professional development, job opportunities, conferences, and resources for college students interested in becoming PR professionals.
Society for Professional Journalists (SPJ)




SPJ’s website provides resources for journalism students and professionals, links to careers, internships and fellowships, and information on conferences, workshops, and seminars.

Opinion Polls

Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
Pew is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
Public Agenda

Nonprofit, with a stated goal to remain unbiased, Public Agenda was founded by social scientist and author Daniel Yankelovich and former Secretary of State Cyrus Vance in 1975
World Public Opinion
WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. Initiated and managed by the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland.

Finding Statistics

US Census Bureau
American Factfinder
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Centers for Disease Control
National Center for Health Statistics
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services
FBI Uniform Crime Report
FedStats.gov
United Nations Statistics Division
RealtyTrac
Foreclosure rates, etc.
Hispanic Labor Recovery Report

Class Assessment

Class Assessment

Keeping Up on Journalism Issues

The State of the News Media: An Annual Report on American Journalism
The State of the News Media 2014 is the eighth edition of our annual report on the health and status of American journalism.
Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. Its work is carried out by these seven projects:
Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
Project for Excellence in Journalism
Pew Internet & American Life Project
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Pew Hispanic Center
Pew Global Attitudes Project
Social & Demographic Trend
Poynter Institute
Poynter Institute is a school dedicated to teaching and inspiring journalists and media leaders

Finding Scholarly Articles

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date

Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Communication and Media Studies
Good for: Researching communication and media studies.
Contains: Full text of 16 communication studies journals.
Dates covered: 1950-current date.

This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources & The CRAAP Test

Locating Newspaper Articles--Past & Present

Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1849-2015.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1881-2016.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1851-2021.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank)
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Newspaper Source Plus
Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts.
Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.

Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Good for: Researching historical events through American newspapers, including Nevada newspapers.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1789-1963.

Citing Sources / Creating a Bibliography

zbib.org
Quickly finds and formats citations - no login required.

Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
This guide was created by the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. It includes example citations for a wide variety of publication types. You can use the examples to check the accuracy of citations generated by RefWorks and BibMe.

Style guides for bibliographies (APA, MLA, Chicago...)

Good for: Formatting citations.
Contains: Links to resources for various citation styles.

When UNLV Libraries Doesn't Own Something That You Need

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.

In order to register for and use our ILLiad Document Delivery system, you must have an active library account with no fines on it.

DDS Requests can be made 24 hours a day using the ILLiad Document Delivery system. Please check the Library Catalog (for book and journal titles) and the UNLV Print and Online Journal Subscriptions (for journal titles) before making requests for materials we do not own.

Use the links below to access our services:

Log on to your ILLiad account (to place orders, update your info, etc.)

Create your new ILLiad account

JOUR 100: Introduction to Journalism & Media Studies