If you want to use Google Scholar as one of your search tools, the document below describes how to update the Google Scholar settings to tie it to the subscriptions you have access to through UNLV and other libraries.
A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. You can use the databases below to search for engineering and computer science resources (newspaper, journal, or magazine articles; e-books; patents; conference proceedings; datasets; and more). Hover over the database title to see a description of what each database offers. Since each database includes a different set resources, searching more than one database can help you to find additional information. If you need more help, Ask A Librarian.
Good for: Accessing articles on computer engineering and computer science.
Contains: Citations and articles from ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
Dates covered: 1947-present.
Good for: Researching sustainable building practices.
Contains: Articles, reviews, product information, and news.
UNLV Libraries no longer subscribes. Try these other databases: Web of Science, INSPEC, or Scopus.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Accessing academic literature in physics, electrical/electronic technology, computing, information technology, control, production, and manufacturing engineering.
Contains: Journals, conference papers, books, reports, and dissertations.
Good for: Researching social science, medicine, science, and technology.
Contains: Journals.
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.
Good for: Researching transportation technology and engineering topics.
Contains: Scholarly articles, conference papers and abstracts, and research grant reports.
Good for: Finding government publications.
Contains: Information on how to find government resources.
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.
