Skip to main content

Nursing

This guide is intended to serve nursing students - grad students, bsn students and nursing faculty - in helping to locate important library resources.

About this Page

This page contains a list of the top-ranked Nursing journals, as well as a list of databases. If you're looking for databases, don't forget about the Best Bets box on the Getting Started page.

Nursing & Related Databases

This list of resources contains journal articles and other research materials about nursing. For more Nursing & related databases, see Best Bets. 

Nursing Journals

The following list of selected nursing journals is compiled by the Nursing and Allied Health Resources section of the Medical Library Association. A complete list of recommended journals is available here.

  • The American Journal of Nursing 
  • American Journal of Public Health 
  • Applied Nursing Research 
  • Archives of Psychiatric Nursing 
  • Australasian Emergency Nursing Journal
  • Biological Research for Nursing
  • Care management journals: Journal of case management: the journal of long term health care
  • Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing 
  • Clinical Nursing Research 
  • Clinical Simulation in Nursing 
  • Complementary Therapies in Clinical Practice 
  • Comprehensive Child and Adolescent Nursing 
  • Critical Care Nurse 

 

Tips for Searching CINAHL

  • In the basic search the article type limiter “research” may be very useful, as well as the option to limit to peer-reviewed articles
  • There is an article type “research instrument”, but it doesn’t pull up many results. Check the tab "Research Instruments" on this guide for tips on finding research instruments in nursing
  • Health sciences students are often told to limit their results to the last five years so the date limiter feature will be useful   
  • In advanced search mode you can limit by age group and to the special interest “evidence-based practice” (use with caution – it means the article is about evidence based practice). Faculty especially might be interested in the “first author is nurse” limiter.   
  • If you are having a problem pulling up a link to an article that has been posted on WebCampus, it might be that the link does not have the EZ Proxy prefix. An example of a link with the prefix is  http://ezproxy.library.unlv.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cin20&AN=2011438637&site=ehost-live
    • In Ebsco databases such as CINAHL you can find the correct URL by clicking on “permalink” on the right side of the page with the full record
    • The EZ proxy prefix is http://ezproxy.library.unlv.edu/login?url=

PubMed

  • The journal references that are in PubMed are also in Scopus, which is easier to search. But, many faculty tell their students to search PubMed, and you can do a more complex search in PubMed.
  • PubMed is free, and indexed on Google—I always remind people that they have to go into PubMed through the library in order to have access to our subscriptions
  • You can do complex searches on PubMed, including subject terms (MESH) and limit your results by things such as article type, age group, species, etc.
  • One reason that researchers often don’t like PubMed is that it is not easy to tell if we have access to the full text.  From the search results you have to click on the title of the article and go to the page with the abstract in order to see the “UNLV find text” link
  • The “UNLV find text” link doesn’t seem to always work from PubMed, especially from off-campus – if it isn't working check the A-Z list of e-journals (http://qm3ut3ze6e.search.serialssolutions.com/), or even try to get the article from Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/)
  • I'm often asked if everything in PubMed is peer-reviewed and the answer is no. If it is a journal article you can be pretty sure it is scholarly, but of course you have to look at it to know for certain. But there are other types of publications in there that are not peer-reviewed.
  • You CAN export references from PubMed to RefWorks.  It’s not simple, but it is possible. Mark the citation and send it to “citation manager” – then copy the result, open RefWorks, and import it there (using the “from text” option).

 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**