Skip to main content

COM 101: Oral Communication (Belk)

Resources for 3 speeches in COM 101

Tools to Help You Evaluate Information & Guide to Creating an Annotated Bibliography

Informative Speech: UNLV Libraries Quick Search & Be Sure to Search the Library Catalog

Check out the library Quick Search. Search for books, articles, and more all from one search box!

http://library.unlv.edu/

When to Use Quick Search:

 
  • you are first starting your research
  • to get ideas or background info you have had difficulty finding sources in other databases you need
  • an alternative to Google - easy searching but with more credible/reliable results

On the left sidebar, you can "Refine Your Search" a number of different ways--including by publication date

**Remember, since you are supposed to look for recent publications (such as 2012 through present), you can narrow your seach easily in the "Publication Date" box

UNLV Libraries Catalog: http://webpac.library.unlv.edu/

Try a keyword search on your topic!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Informative Speech: Social Issues, Current Topics, etc.

Finding Data & Statistics

When searching for government-related statistics or reports, you can use Google! Type in your keywords, then type site:.gov and you will locate a wide variety of federal, state, and local statistics and reports.

Persuasive (Problem/Solution or Problem/Cause/Solution)

Charity Resources

Begin your charity/nonprofit research by investigating the organization's website. You will most likely learn about their mission, their key players, annual reports, events, fundraising efforts, and more

You may also want to type in the name of the charity in UNLV Libraries "Quick Search" button to find a vairety of sources from books, magazine & journal articles.

Below are some UNLV Library Databases and reliable charity-related websites to help you with researching the organizations.

Using Google

Need statistics to support your argument. An easy way to find official statistics on Google is to add site:.gov to your search. For example:
Search "teen pregancy statistics" site:.gov

Then you will be directed to official government sources, such as the Center for Disease Control (CDC)

 

Citing Your References

RefworksBibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles. 

UNLV Libraries Style Guides: This link provides guides to help you create bibliographies & works cited pages for various style guides (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.

  • BibMe - Quick and convenient! Enter a title of a book or journal article and it autocompletes and formats the citation. Free - create a login to save bibliographies.
  • StyleWizard - The APA Wizard takes you through a step-by-step citation creation process.
  • NoodleTools Express - Questionnaire will help you create accurate citations in MLA or APA style. Free; a subscription option lets you create a personal account and save notecards.
  • KnightCite Citation Maker - Quick form to fill out - no login, no ads, from Calvin College's Hekman Library. MLA, APA, Chicago style.
  • Son of Citation Machine - Select type of resource then fill out a form to create MLA, APA, Chicago style citations.
  • SourceAid: Create Bibliography with Citation Builder - Free version requires login. MLA, APA, Chicago Manual of Style, and Council of Science Editors.
  • EasyBib - MLA formatting - Enter citation information into a form and it generates MLA references. Free version available with option to upgrade to a version that formats in APA for a fee. Lots of advertising on the site.
  • Government Documents - ASU DocsCite - DocsCite is a step-by-step web form for putting government publication citations into proper style format from Arizona State Univ. Libraries.

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian's picture
Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian
Contact:
UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
702-895-2141
© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**