Skip to main content

Teaching Online

This guide provides information, tools, and resources to support online instruction for those teaching online.

Increased Access to Online Resources

With the continued shift to online instruction in this time of crisis, many publishers are providing expanded free access to their online materials to libraries. This page is frequently updated with the latest information regarding free access to these collections.

Book icon

Access is constantly changing based on the evolving situation. You may also view the Information Services Providers Spreadsheet and Vendor Love in the Time of COVID-19 for externally updated lists of vendor and publisher responses to COVID-19.

While some of these collections can be accessed directly through their websites where noted, they are also all accessible through Quick Search or the databases which normally contain the resources.

Please contact the Libraries with any questions, and happy researching!

 

Streaming Media

Films On Demand

Films On Demand is continually updating their streaming video collection. Films on Demand contains full length videos from Films Media Group covering Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, Health, Archival Films & Newsreels.

Digitalia Film Library

Digitalia has expanded its access of new streaming videos. Digitalia streams feature films and documentaries in Spanish, Portuguese, and 34 other languages, all with English subtitles. Includes collections of Latin American, Cuban, Brazilian, European and French cinema as well as early 20th century animation.

JoVE

The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is offering free access to JoVE Education until June 15, 2020. JoVE publishes peer reviewed videos of research protocols.

Alexander Street Press

4,153 new streaming videos have been added to the Alexander Street Press collection.

In addition, an extended trial of the Academic Video Online channel is available through June 30, 2020.

Docuseek2

New films have been added to Docuseek2, a portal for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films.

 

 

Journals, Ebooks, Etc.

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database

Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic. 

Bloomsbury

Bloomsbury has provided full access to the following through May 31, 2020.

  • Arcadian Library Online: Europe and the Ottoman World: Archive of diplomatic correspondences, treaties and accounts of ambassadorial missions, many of which are being made available publicly for the first time. Originating from between 1475 and 1877, the collection charts and illustrates the complex relationships between the Ottoman Empire and European powers from the golden age of the Empire's expansion and flourishing through to the era of its decline.
  • Arcadian Library Online: History of Science and Medicine: The History of Science and Medicine collection brings together one of the world’s most important and unique collections of books and manuscripts showcasing the contribution of early Arab and Persian scientists, doctors and thinkers; their translation, reception and influence in Europe and their lasting influence on the development of Western scientific and medical knowledge.
  • Bloomsbury Cultural History Series: Multi-volume cultural histories on these topics: Animals, Childhood and Family, Dress and Fashion, Emotions, Food, Gardens, Hair, The Human Body, Money, Law, The Senses, Sexuality, Theatre, Western Empires, Women, and Work.
  • Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers: Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers features critical biographies of individuals who have contributed to the history of intellectual thought.
  • Screen Studies: 90 critical books in the BFI Screen Classics series, 69 screenplays, and 407 critical works as well as a timeline of the history of cinema.
  • Bloomsbury Fashion Central: Includes interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world.
  • Church Missionary Society papers: Archival records of the CMS and the many other missionary societies which have become associated or amalgamated with it over its lifetime.

Project MUSE

Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on their platform. Among the publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are:

MUSE expects to announce additional participants and will continually update the list of publishers offering free access to content on this webpage: https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/.

ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge. ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. 

See a list of participating publishers (https://media2.proquest.com/documents/unlimitedaccess-participatingpublishers.pdf) – and check back regularly, as the list is constantly growing. For more information: https://www.proquest.com/blog/pqblog/2020/Coronavirus-Impacted-Libraries-Get-Unlimited-Access-to-Ebook-Central.html

JSTOR

To support institutions during this challenging time, JSTOR and participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19.

Further details about this program, participating publishers, and links to other useful resources can be found at about.jstor.org/covid19/.

Digital Loeb Classical Library

The Trustees of the Loeb Classical Library and Harvard University Press announced that subscriptions to the digital Loeb Classical Library are made free to schools and universities impacted by COVID-19 until June 30, 2020.

Cambridge University Press

All 700 textbooks published and currently available in HTML format on Cambridge Core are available. Free access is available until the end of May 2020. Full list of HTML textbooks published on the platform.

Ohio State University Press
For the duration of this crisis, all Ohio State University Press monographs, and the linguistics textbook language files, will be open and free to use through the Ohio State University Libraries’ Institutional Repository, The Knowledge Bank.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews, has removed the paywall to all of their journals and volumes. Their aim is to ensure continued access to their resources for those who need it, especially for anyone that may now be working, studying, and researching remotely. Annual Reviews includes critical reviews of scholarly literature in multiple disciplines in the sciences and social sciences.

GeoScience World

To help support online learning and remote research for the remainder of the semester, the following GSW book publishers have extended public access to all of their ebooks through June 30, 2020: 

  • American Association of Petroleum Geologists
  • Canadian Science Publishing
  • Clay Minerals Society
  • Geological Society of America 
  • Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland
  • PSAAPG
  • SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology
  • Society of Economic Geologists
  • University of Wyoming

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is a large, multidisciplinary, full-text database that provides access to 47 of ProQuest's complete databases. What's New in ProQuest Central February 2020 Brochure. This trial lasts through June 30, 2020.

 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas