Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Honors 100 Lusty (Climate): Library Guides

Recommendations for your annotated bibliography assignment.

Things to consider

Your annotated bibliography will take quite a bit of time to complete, so keep these things in mind:

  • Start early.  This isn't the kind of assignment that you will be able to knock out the night before it's due.
  • Choose something that's really interesting to you.  It will make the time spent on this project more fun.
  • If you're stuck on what to write about, I'm happy to talk with you.  Use the button on the left to schedule an appointment.

Teaching and Learning Librarian

Profile Photo
Mark Lenker
Contact:
4505 South Maryland Pkwy.
Box 457001
Las Vegas, Nevada
89154-7001
mark.lenker@unlv.edu
702-895-2248

Search terms

As you practice with our sample topic of UAP, keep in mind that you may need to try a few different search terms.  Here are some suggestions:

  • UAP
  • unidentified aerial phenomena
  • UFO
  • unidentified flying objects
  • ufologists
  • extraterrestrial

Sample topic for class discussion

UFO

Navy pilots recall "unsettling" 2004 UAP sighting.  60 Minutes.  May 16, 2021.

Find an academic encyclopedia article on the topic of UAP or UFO

Specialized encyclopedias are great sources of background knowledge on new topics.  They can also provide leads on other sources to consult.

Use the library's CREDO database to find specialized encyclopedias on this topic.  Make sure your article:

  • Is at least 1000 words long.
  • Was published after 2010 (publication info is usually at the bottom of CREDO articles).

Find a recent news article on UAP/UFOs

The library offers several databases for news sources.  US Newsstream and Access World News are two of the best.  US Newsstream is a little easier to work with, but Access World News has more content, especially for Nevada issues.  Both feature filters on the left that let you narrow results by date, region, or news source.

Find a news article on UAP/UFOs.  Be sure that your article is:

  • Substantial -- more than a blurb or an announcement.
  • From 2021.
  • From a newspaper or magazine you have heard of before.

Find a chart or graph related to UAP/UFOs

The Statista database features charts and graphs on a range of topics.  Using the Infographics filter will take you directly to charts and graphs composed by Statista's data journalists, but it's worth exploring other results as well.  Topics pages in particular feature several charts and graphs.

Find a chart or graph about UAP, UFOs, or aliens.

 

Find scholarly journal articles related to UAP/UFOs

The QuickSearch database on the library home page works great for this.  Just make sure to use the filter on the right for Peer-Reviewed Journals.

Use the QuickSearch database to find a scholarly journal article on ufology or ufologists.  Make sure your article:

  • Was published after 2010.
  • Was written by authors with expertise that relates to this area of research.

Where do all of these databases come from?

QuickSearch is the search box centrally featured on the Libraries home page.  The other databases can be found under Databases A to Z -- the link is just below the QuickSearch search box.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas