Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hon 100.1010: 2020 election

guide for the use of Roberta Sabbath's Hon 100 class

Voting Guides & Ballot Lookups

Public Policy sources

Search newspapers & local media online

Charting Bias in News Sources

Charting Bias in Think Tanks and Policy Institutes

Public Policy Advocacy Organizations

These nonprofit organizations offer their own research and policy analysis to advocate for positions held by their creators and supporters. A good way to identify relevant nonprofits on many sides of any issue is to use the Contacts section of a recent, relevant CQ Researcher report. 

Suggestions?

About ballot measures

Ballot Measures for 2020

This guide from the Clark County Elections Department explains the five 2020 ballot measures in detail:  view guide

For each measure, the guide includes:

  • The language of the measure as it will appear on the ballot.
  • An "Explanation and Digest" section that unpacks the meaning of the measure's language and provides helpful context.
  • Clearly reasoned arguments for and against the measure.
  • An estimate of the financial impact of the measure, especially costs to taxpayers.

Here's a brief overview from the Las Vegas SunNevada will have 5 statewide questions on November ballot, by Michelle L Price

Media Coverage of Ballot Measure Number 1

Media Coverage of Ballot Measure Number 2

Media Coverage of Ballot Measure Number 3

Media Coverage of Ballot Measure Number 4

Media Coverage of Ballot Measure Number 5 -- will not be on the November 2020 ballot

Media Coverage of Ballot Measure Number 6

Nevada Representatives

Knowing who is elected into your local and state governments as well as your congressmen is also very important. Researching Nevada representatives is an easy way to be a more informed and engaged Nevadan. Check out these resources below to learn more about who represents you!

  • GovTrack - GovTrack is a website that more information about Nevada senators, district representatives, and congressional district information. GovTrack also has a feature that allows you to search your address to show you who your representatives are.
  • ACLU Nevada - ACLU Nevada has information about Nevada senators, district representatives, and states representatives. ACLU Nevada also provides information for all of the county governments in Nevada.
  • Nevada Legislature - The Nevada Legislative website has made a handy graphic with all of the contact information for Nevada representatives at all levels. Keep in on hand in case you ever need to reach out to your representatives!

 

State and Local Elections

USA.Gov - Unlike federal elections, state and local elections can take place in any year and may be held at various times throughout the year.  The page from USA.Gov has great information to learn more about congressional, state, and local elections for where you live!

NCSL.Org - There are many different types of state and local elections; a city may elect its mayor, there might be races for judges or local officials, or there might be statewide elections for governor or state legislature. Check out this page from the National Conference of State Legislature to learn more!

Clark County Elections Department - This is a great place to learn more about local Clark County elections, visit the Clark County Election Department.

Historical Election Results and Related Data - Contains historical election results and related data including official election results, early voter turnout summaries, and ballot questions.

U.S. Vote Foundation Election Dates and Deadlines - To find out when the next elections are in Nevada, check out this page from U.S. Vote Foundation. 

Congressional Elections

Congressional Elections- Congressional elections occur every two years and allow voters to choose one-third of senators and every member of the House of Representatives. Congressional elections use the popular vote to determine who has won.

U.S. House of Representatives- Members of the U.S. House of Representatives serve terms of two years. All 435 members get elected in every midterm and election year. The number of representatives each state gets is based on population. Each representative serves a specific congressional district.

U.S. Senate- Senators serve six-year terms. One-third of senators get elected during each midterm and each presidential election year. There are 100 U.S. senators, two from each state.  

Election Key Terms - This resource is a page from Khan Academy that will help you to learn more about Congressional elections and brush up on the associated vocabulary!

Presidential Elections

Presidential elections happen every four years and determines who will be President and Vice President. Elections are held every four years on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.

What is the Electoral College? - While citizens cast a vote for who they want for President, it is the Electoral College who decides who will be President. Visit this page to learn more about how the Electoral College works or watch the video below.

A majority of 270 electoral votes are needed to elect the President. Click on the map below to be taken to an interactive version that will allow you to create your own Electoral College votes forecast. The website 270towin.com also has interactive maps for Senate, House, Governor, and state elections and to take a quiz testing your electoral college knowledge.


Click the map to create your own at 270toWin.com
© University of Nevada Las Vegas