Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

HIST 451, Capstone Research: Library Guides

Databases: Primary Source Collections

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

North American

World history collections 

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period. 

U.S. Newspapers

World Newspapers

search tips

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

U.S. Periodical Collections

World Periodical Collections

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

United States

Great Britain

Digitized photos and art images.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

Primary Source collections online

slides from Sept 8 class

sample document collections

Reference sources

Microform Research Collections

humanities librarian

Profile Photo
Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

priscilla.finley@unlv.edu
Contact:
Lied Library LLB1187
(702) 570-1338
© University of Nevada Las Vegas