It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chronological overview of the century's masterpieces, from the handmade vernacular styles of the Arts and Crafts Movement and Art Deco, through the early Modernists to the colourful and chaotic world of Pop Art, and finally to today's innovative and experimental designs.
Article about influence of HGTV, launched in 1994. Includes names of early HGTV shows and hosts.
YouTube is a gold mine for searching film footage. You might try searching for a year and a broad term like "men's fashion". Aim for primary sources like footage from newsreels or films - but remember that sources created for entertaining audiences can't always be taken at face value.
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Over 170 searchable ebooks which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines including fashion and textiles, design and illustration, photography, film and media, architecture and interiors, and marketing and advertising.
More than 170 highly illustrated books, providing structured and accessible coverage across the main visual arts disciplines to support a wide range of practice-led courses
A versatile combination of titles covering key skills and topics within each discipline and at different levels of study, sequentially from basic concepts to careers and professional practice
Richly illustrated content, with each title typically offering between 150-250 full-color images to showcase work, concepts, or techniques
A wealth of practical pedagogy such as case studies, leading practitioner interviews, and activities allowing students and educators to realize learning outcomes, while embedding students' understanding of real-world applications and supporting portfolio development
Update frequency: annual
Abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.
DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture