Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

ENG 298, Writing about Literature (Erwin): Search scholarly sources

Search scholarly sources in literature

Literary criticism published in books and journals

What's the difference between these databases?
MLA International Bibliography's search feature searches ONLY the index entries, not inside the full text of the article (if included). For best results, search for the name of the work or the author or use the included thesaurus feature to identify a concept that will be listed in the index entry. It is a good comprehensive search of key sources of literary criticism; UNLV may not have all referenced works, but you can request article PDFs or books from interlibrary loan. MLA does not index book reviews. 
ProQuest One Literature searches within the full text of articles from many current journals and ebooks available from ProQuest. It includes citations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from the MHRA, a good international bibliography of literary criticism, as well as book reviews,  dissertations, and entries in reference books. You can also search through some collections of poetry and prose as well as collections of historic criticism.
Gale Literature searches the full text of articles, book chapters, book reviews, and reference entries that were reprinted in the Gale Literary Criticism series. These are selected by editors and may not reflect the most recent year's publications but often include historic reviews and criticism. 

Journal articles from many different academic disciplines

Search for criticism by line of text (for some canonical texts)

Reader's guides

Companions, plot summaries, critical overviews, reading guides and more.

Literary Theory

humanities librarian

Profile Photo
Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

priscilla.finley@unlv.edu
Contact:
Lied Library LLB1187
(702) 570-1338

Dictionaries

English Language

Specialized terms and concepts found in literary criticism

Author biographies and bibliographies

Overviews & textbooks

© University of Nevada Las Vegas