Skip to main content
questions, ask us

Criminal Justice

This guide provides a wide variety of criminal justice-related resources.

UNLV Library Tutorials

Click HERE to check out the wide variety of library video tutorials!

Check Out Info on Libraries' New Research Production Department!

Info on Knowledge Production Department & Services

Need Additional Help? Schedule a Consultation!

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian's picture
Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian
Contact:
UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu
702-895-2141

Welcome CRJ Grads!

Welcome to the Criminal Justice Graduate Student Library Research Guide!

 

Welcome from UNLV Libraries!

In order to access the online resources through the UNLV Libraries, please log on with your Ace Account.

Please register your Rebel Card at this link to check-out materials from the UNLV Libraries.

To begin, view the UNLV Libraries tutorials at this by clicking here.

Need more help?   Contact your librarian, Susie Skarl at susie.skarl@unlv.edu

Criminal Justice-Related Databases & Resources

Learn Effective Database Search Strategies

Learn Effective Database Search Strategies

  (The following are suggestions to improve your search results)

 

 

 Use different search terms or key words

  1. Try using other words to describe your topic, it will give you better results. 
  2. Examples: crime, felony, misdemeanor, violation, delinquency

 Truncation or wildcard (*)

  1. This will locate alternate endings for your search term.
  2. Example - crim* to find crime, criminal criminology, etc.
  3. Note: Some databases use different symbols; consult the help page for the correct symbol

 Try different databases

  1. Each database contains unique material, so searching a different database may yield more relevant research.

 Help page

  1. Each database has a page with tips to help you effectively search that resource.

Tips for Searching on Google Scholar

A note about Google Scholar . . . 

Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for hospitality research.  Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review.  You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

 

 

  

Sage Research Methods--Project Planner

Using RefWorks

RefWorks: Software that will allow you to store, organize and format your research citations via the Internet automatically.
**Be sure to click on Log Into "New" RefWorks, then Click on "Create account" to begin.

Online Videos & Streaming Media

UNLV Libraries Online Videos & Streaming Media Home Page:  The UNLV Libraries provide access to thousands of streaming videos for UNLV use. You can search the catalog to find them, or visit the video collection websites directly. Many of the collection sites allow you to register a personal account for creating and managing clips, playlists, and other customized views of the content.

Use Time-Saving Library Services

  • UNLV Interlibrary Loan: Use this account to get articles, books, and other resources from our interlibrary loan system that are not available through UNLV Libraries for free by clicking HERE to set up an account. 
  • RefWorks: Software that will allow you to store, organize and format your research citations via the Internet automatically.
  • Google Scholar is a subset of Google that is designed to search for academic and scholarly articles and books online.
  • Follow UNLV Libraries on Twitter & Like Us on Facebook: For library news, research assistance, schedules, resource updates, and more, follow us on Twitter: @unlvlibraries  & Like Us on Facebook.
  • Suggest a Purchase for the UNLV Libraries: Do you have a suggestion for an item that we should add to the library collections?  Click here to make your request.
  • UNLV Libraries Graduate Workshops: Check out the wide variety of workshops we will be having throughout the semester for grads!
  • Research Consultations: If you would like to schedule a time that is convenient for your schedule to discuss your research, please contact me at susie.skarl@unlv.edu or 702-895-2141.

CRJ Publication Information

Need to know where to publish, how to contact a publisher, and what has been published?  Check out the following resources.

Citation Analysis Tools

Use the following resources to track citations, including by author, number of articles cited, number of articles published, etc.
© University of Nevada Las Vegas