LibGuides: Communication Studies: Getting Started

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help you with your library research. You will find databases, journals, ebooks, reference books, and selected websites to help with your literature review, or provide background information on important communication studies-related subject areas.

Research Starting Points

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Communication and Media Studies
Good for: Researching communication and media studies.
Contains: Full text of 16 communication studies journals.
Dates covered: 1950-current date.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
ComAbstracts
Good for: Researching communication studies.
Contains: Abstracts of articles published in communication studies literature.
Dates covered: 1915-present.

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
Search for books, articles, newspapers, and more in one tool with one click.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that provides links to full-text articles to which UNLV Libraries subscribes or to articles made freely available by the publisher.

Communication Studies

Urban Affairs Librarian

About this Guide

Research Starting Points

Course Guides

Locations

Contact