Skip to main content

HIST 451.1002, Capstone Research Seminar, Global Topics (McMahon): Primary sources

Help finding primary sources for world history topics

Browse using different organizational schemes

Primary Source Collections

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period. 

free online newspaper collections

lists of free online newspapers

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

British Foreign Relations collections

Laws and treaties

US foreign relations

Digitized photos and art images.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

Directories

Topical collections

Home intelligence reports on opinion and morale, 1940-1944. Brighton, Eng. : Harvester Press Microform Publications; Reading, Eng. : Research Publications
Collection Dates: 01/01/1940 - 12/31/1944
Location: UNLV Microforms, MICROFILM D810.P85 G75 1979b

This 4 reel microfilm collection emphasizes the fundamental unity and solidarity of the British people during the war. These reports were a pioneering attempt to close the gulf between administrators and the people they administered; to provide feedback which could be used to improve policy making. Home Intelligence relied upon polls and surveys but the bulk of reports consisted of materials which was both collected and analyzed on principles of loose and vague impressionism. Many governmental departments found the reports useful and even Churchill would sometimes ask for an extract on a controversial topic.

Finding Aids: Home Intelligence reports on opinion and morale, 1940 - 1944 (MICRO D810.P85 G75 1979b Guide). This guide provides a general narrative of the collection as well as a reel contents index.

 

Underground press collection. Alternative Press Center supplement UMI
Collection Dates: 01/01/1963 - 12/31/1985
Location: UNLV Microforms, MICROFILM HN1 .U543

This 320 reel collection, subdivided into eight units, contains alternative press newspapers from around the world. Topics covered include labor, communism, women's rights, homosexuality and gay rights, politics, affirmative action, and other social issues. The time period covered is from shortly after the assassination of President Kennedy into the 1980's.

Finding Aids: Accompanied by guide. (Micro HN1 .U534 Guide). Each unit's guide includes title, date, reel numbers, and brief description of each paper's contents.

 

History of Women.

Subject Category: History Great Britain, History US, Literature, Social Conditions, Women's Studies
Collection Dates: 01/01/1479 - 11/09/1945
Location: UNLV Microforms HQ 1111 .H57x

This collection which consists of books, pamphlets, manuscripts, and photographs was selected from holdings at Radcliffe College, Smith College, University of Illinois (Circle Campus), Boston Public Library, and Scripps College for Women. The books are arranged chronologically beginning with those up to 1799 and ending with the 1916-20 era. Over 2000 pamphlets cover broad topical categories including birth control, education, professions, women's rights, and women's organizations. The Research Society consultants selected about 80,000 pages of manuscripts based on what they deemed to be significant. These are grouped according to originating individual or organization. Eight hundred photographs provide visual reference to the topics.

Finding Aids: All records for this collection are accessible through the library catalog. Records can be searched by keyword, title, author, and subject. A guide, History of Women: Guide to the Microfilm collection (MICRO Z7965 .H527x 1983b). The guide provides access to the microform materials by main entry, periodical title, subject, and name index to the photographs. Catalogs from the various contributing libraries also provide access: Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America: The Manuscript Inventories and Catalogs of the Manuscripts, Books, and Pictures (MICRO Z7965 .A78 1973), The Ida Rust Macpherson Collections (MICRO Z7961 .S32) and Catalogs of the Sophie Smith Collection, Women's History Archive, Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts (MICRO Z7965 .S65 1975).

Magic Words!

On the web

In a search engine, add the term

"digital collections"

to your search to uncover collections of primary sources digitized by archives, libraries and cultural heritage organizations.

Reprinted in books

In a library catalog, in the advanced search form, find the Subject: field and add the term

sources

 to find primary source collections reprinted in books. 

 

Recognizing Primary Sources

Help with British records

© University of Nevada Las Vegas