The UNLV University Libraries' Special Collections and Archives Portal includes many artifacts from the history of Las Vegas - also known as the entertainment capital of the world. This webpage introduces you to some of these items, including many that are viewable in digital format. You may also view materials in person in our Special Collections reading room.
Art publications index with selected full text from 1997. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Possible to limit searches to full text items only or peer-reviewed items only. Works of art found reproduced in periodicals are also indexed. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage of selected articles begins in 1997.
Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events.
Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.
Books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos about design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.
Material from the performance and architectural archives of the modern reconstruction of Shakespeare’s 1599 Globe Theatre.
The performance archive shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved and the theatre history and performance lessons that were observed and learned. The architectural archive contains material on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions. In addition, there is also material on the theatre’s annual reports, communications to its supporters and oral histories detailing some of the early history of the reconstructed theatre.
Streaming video of theatre productions and documentaries about performance.
Theatre in Video presents online streaming video of complete professional performances of more than 250 well-known plays, together with more than 500 video documentaries. View and bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples.